This is the "General Info" page of the "JWST 31104: Introduction to Modern Jewish Writers: The Works of Philip Roth and Cynthia Ozick" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JWST 31104: Introduction to Modern Jewish Writers: The Works of Philip Roth and Cynthia Ozick   Tags: american jews, cynthia ozick, jews, literature, philip roth, writers  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/JWST31104 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Class Syllabus

 

CCNY Library Catalog



 

A Few Words about Peer Review

Watch this video!

Introduction

Writing a biographical essay -- where do I start?

For literary authors, many research resources combine material about the author’s life with reviews and criticism of the author’s writings. Some include essays on themes found within the writings. These databases are good places to look for material for your essay:

  • Biography Reference Bank  Icon
    Biography Reference Bank contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. In addition to the full text biographies, Biography Reference Bank contains millions of magazine citations. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images.
  • Gale Literature Resource Center  Icon
    The Gale Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a literature reference database covering authors from antiquity to the present. It is comprised of the online versions of Gale's three flagship literature reference sources (Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography), plus selections from an additional fourteen Gale literature reference sources and the full text of over 270 prominent literary journals.
  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This resource also includes the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, a growing collection which currently includes 113,000 titles (as of March 2013). This allows students and faculty access to all these e-books, covering a broad range of disciplines.
  • JSTOR  
      
      Icon
    JSTOR is a database providing indexing and full text access for about 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals in 42 disciplines. Coverage is heavily weighted toward social sciences and humanities. The titles covered are almost exclusively oriented toward the scholar (senior or higher academic level), but some articles may be appropriate for use by lower level undergraduates.
  • Project MUSE  Icon
    Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.

Associate Dean & Chief Librarian

Profile Image
Pamela Gillespie
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
212-650-7271
Cohen Library Room 5/333, NAC
Send Email
Education:
B.A., Trinity University; M.S. in L.S., Columbia University; M.S.Ed., Baruch College
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip