Zika Virus Health Information Resources
Zika virus map available from HealthMap
March 12, 2016: NLM Zika Virus Health Information Compendium of Resources It was released in late January 2016 and is continuously updated. The resources on this page may help with understanding the health issues related to the outbreak of Zika virus infection and the clusters of neurological disorders.
Examples of resources provided:
- Many full-text articles available for free: http://1.usa.gov/1QAPJS1
- Additional free literature from publishers: https://disasterinfo.nlm.nih.gov/dimrc/zikavirus.html#a5
- Zika Virus and Zika virus infection added as new Medical Subject Headings: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/jf16/jf16_zika.html
- Disaster Lit: http://1.usa.gov/1PwD3z0 Approximately 100 Guidelines; Reports; Training materials; Factsheets; Congressional hearings
- Web Collecting Initiative: https://archive-it.org/collections/4887 NLM’s web collection on "Global Health Events” now includes selected content related to the current Zika outbreak and co-occurring neurological disorders from Web sites and social media from Government and non-government organizations, journalists, healthcare workers, and scientists in the United States and around the world. Increasingly, this information is found in a rapidly changing environment where valuable and interesting materials can surface and then quickly disappear.
- Virus Variation Resource for Zika: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/viruses/variation/Zika/ The NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) created a Zika resource that includes a specialized database and provides users an easy way to search and retrieve protein and nucleotide sequences related to this pathogen. The resource also aggregates links to Zika data at NLM and important links to other Zika-related resources.
Information for Patients, families and friends
NLM terminology teams are working with the CDC on the development of public health terminology standard codes used to capture and exchange data in electronic lab reporting and electronic health records.
- MedlinePlus, NLMs Web site for patients, families and friends contains information on hundreds of diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. The Medline Plus Zika Virus topic page is available in English and Spanish and contains information for the public from NIH, CDC, and WHO.
March 8, 2016: The World Health Organization has created a Zika app which gathers all of WHO's guidance for agencies and individuals involved in the response to Zika Virus Disease. The English version of the app is now available both in Android and iOS versions