Skip to main content

Architecture: Image Resources

Image Collections for Architecture

American Memory Collection-Library of Congress
This is a multimedia collection of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. There are currently 9 collections under Architecture & Landscape such as American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920, which offers 2,800 lantern slides representing an historical view of American buildings and landscapes, and the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) from 1933 to the present.

Ancient City of Athens: Sites and Monuments
The Ancient City of Athens is a photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece). It is intended primarily as a resource for students and teachers. Most images are from the personal photographic collection of Kevin T. Glowacki and Nancy L. Klein, who've studied, taught, and conducted archaeological research in Athens.

Ancient World Mapping Center from the University of North Carolina
A collection of free digital maps for educational use.

Archigram Archival Project
This amazing site was unveiled in April 2010. It presents the work of the seminal architectural group Archigram free online for public viewing and academic study. The project was run by EXP, an architectural research group at the University of Westminster. It was funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council and made possible by the members of Archigram and their heirs, who retain copyright of all images.

archINFORM
"This database includes information for more than 30,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database." The search box leads you to images as well as descriptive materials, some bibliographies, and other links.

ArchNet
ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.

ARTstor  CCNY sign-in Required Off Site.
This is a digital library of over one million images including many images in Architecture and City Planning. Other images relate to art history classes. ARTstor allows you to search, browse, & analyze images and data. You can create and save groups of images. With ARTstor, you and your your professors can create a folder of study images for your classes that you can access online. Additionally, the Architecture Visual Resources Library has uploaded both Archivision and staff-created architecture images to ARTstor. The CUNY community has access both on and off campus. Now includes CCNY's Art and Architecture Image Collection.

Cities and Buildings Database
This University of Washington site offers a collection of 10,000 digitized images of buildings and cities through history and world wide.

 

New York City and State Images

The Brooklyn Historical Society.    Includes finding aids and other guides for such collections as the Fales Library Image Collection at NYU.

 Digital Metro.  A directory of digital collections created and maintained by members of the Metropolitan New York Library Council. It offers over 150 online collections from many of the city's museums and universities, including City College, Baruch, & the Graduate Center. A number of the collections offer images of NYC from the past.

Greater Astoria Historical Society.   It's dedicated to preserving LIC's past and using it to promote the community's future. The Society hosts field trips, walking tours, slide presentations, and guest lectures to schools and the public.  Images are available online and on site.

Museum of the City of New York.  Explore the museum's collection portal of approximately 125,000 NYC images. Another 375,000 non-digitized images are available on site.

The New-York City Historical Society. The extensive photograph collections are strong in documentary images of New York-area buildings and street scenes from 1839 to 1945, although contemporary photography continues to be collected. The bulk of these images are arranged by location. While many of the images are digitized and accessible from anywhere including the "Brooklyn Revealed" collection and "Photographs of New York City and Beyond," the museum's other extensive photographic collections are not digitized.  Find them through the library's catalog here.

New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery. Over 870,000 images. From the Archives site:  Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time. Visitors are invited to explore and search the collections individually, or across all collections by keyword or any of the advanced search criteria. The gallery includes many complete collections; for others, only representative samples are currently on display. 

The New York Public Library Digital Gallery.  Includes approximatelly 800,000 images.  This link leads you to the NYPL Cities and Buildings collection.  It's not limited to New York City, but includes many image collections specifically of the city.  See, for example, Photographic Views of New York City, 1870s-1970s including more than 54,000 New York City archival photographs (and their captioned versos) from the 1870s-1970s arranged by borough and street; the majority are exterior building views and neighborhood scenes from the 1910s-1940s.  You'll also find hundreds of NYC photos by acclaimed photographer Berenice Abbott from the 1930s.  Many other NYC collections available also.

New York State Archives The New York State Archives was established in 1971.  It is a program of the State Education Department, with its main facility located in Albany. There it cares for and provides access to more than 200 million documents that tell the story of New York from the seventeenth century to the present. Many are now being digitized.

The New York Transit Museum Archives.  The museum holds rich collections of photographs, maps, drawings, documents, and ephemera relating to New York's transportation history. It is a non-circulating special reference collection of historical documents and images open to researchers who need to use these primary source and reference materials. Researchers are expected to have familiarized themselves with the secondary source literature about New York's public transportation system and have a well-defined research topic. This link leads you to a guide to the types of images that are available on site.

Access to the Archives is by appointment only. Researchers should call (718) 694-1068 or email the archivist at carey.stumm@nyct.com to schedule an appointment at least two weeks in advance.

Additional General Image Collections

See this broad collection of image resources selected by the CCNY Libraries.