Skip to main content

Architecture: Indexes and Databases

What You Need to Know to Access Databases from Off Campus


Off-Campus Access

Access to CCNY licensed electronic/online materials is available only to CCNY Students, Faculty and Staff through a proxy account. To create your off-campus/proxy account, your ID barcode must be in the library's computer system.  Problems?  Contact library staff.

Recommended Databases for Students in the School of Architecture

(For access specifically to articles in  architecture journals, please consult the architecture librarian's guide: Finding Articles.)

CCNY Licensed Databases (These are accessible only to CCNY ID holders.):  

Building Green Suite

BuildingGreen Suite gives you the best information on green design in a membership-based website format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 350 case studies on sustainable buildings.


GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports to provide a perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. The database contains information for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

Gale Virtual Reference  Good online encylopedia and reference book information

ULI Development Case Studies

Students should request from the Architecture Library the sign-in information needed to access over 450 studies.


Freely Accessible Databases:


Pidgeon Digital

A collection of illustrated talks by architects and designers.


Building Types Study

This Architectural Record site offers over 800 Building Types Studies that have been written up in past issues starting in 2000. The studies offer analyses of a particular building type, with photos, drawings, specifications, descriptions and design solutions. Additional projects are added monthly. The site also offers project portfolios from 2003 to date that focus on popular projects world wide. The portfolios offer detailed information on the people & trades involved in each project. There are photos but no plans for these portfolio projects. Good place to start for those thinking of thesis projects. Note:  As of mid-2013, these studies are available free for only 30 days on a trial basis. Then, the user must subscribe.

Built in America

This site presents images from The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections. " ... includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials."

Alphabetical List of ALL CCNY Library Online Databases

Click here for the A to Z list of hundreds of databases to assist you with your research in ALL subject areas. See descriptions for each database for content and time coverage.