Skip to main content

Architecture: Landscape Architecture

Recommended Databases for Landscape Architecture

(See Also:  Recommended Databases for Architecture.)

  Good information from the University of Florida Architecture Librarian.  CCNY Libraries offer many of these resources.

The National Park Service
Information on the architecture, history & environments of some of the premier national parks in the US. Good references.

New York City Parks Department.     See this 2009 report on Central Park's Great LawnAlso read annual reports, archives, press releases, etc.  dating back to the mid 1800s.  Much information on Central Park.

Northern Manhattan Parks Master Plan
From spring 2010 through fall 2011, NYC Parks' Planning & Parklands Division, together with the Northern Manhattan Parks Administrator, worked with Community Board 12 and an Advisory Council to prepare a master plan for the parks north of 155th Street in Manhattan. Five major parks in northern Manhattan and nine miles of shoreline are included.


American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
ASLA is the national professional association representing landscape architects. Its site offers information on student chapters, competitions, accredited landscape architecture programs, etc. Under "Career Resources," one will find information on jobs, licensing requirements by state, and continuing education programs. "Landscape Architecture in the News" and "Land Online" are regular features to keep one updated on professional news.

Landscape Architecture Professional Practice
A useful bibliographic research guide to print and electronic collections in the practice of landscape architecture. The intended audience is both landscape architecture students and landscape architecture practitioners (Some information is specific to Berkeley students). Coverage includes general professional information, strategic research materials, and the practice of landscape architecture.


 Landscape Architecture Foundation - Performance Series

Launched in 2010, the Landscape Performance Series is an online portal and set of initiatives to build capacity to achieve sustainability and transform the way landscape is considered in the design and development process. It brings together information and innovations from research, industry, academia, and professional practice.

Landscape Architecture Foundation - Case Study Method for Landscape Architecture

LAF commissioned the development of A Case Study Method for Landscape Architecture to promote an in-depth, multi-dimensional approach to case studies and provide for uniformity in format and method. By promoting this approach, LAF hopes to provide professionals and their clients with timely information on emerging issues and innovative projects, and to integrate the case study method into design education, thereby training current and future designers and policymakers with a systematic documentation and research method.


Preparation for Thesis & Dissertation Research in city Planning, Urban Design, and Landscape Architecture
A bibliographic guide for city planning, urban design, and landscape architecture graduate students beginning their professional report, thesis, or dissertation work. Prepared by U Cal/Berkeley librarians, some of the suggestions are specific to Berkeley students, but there is a great deal here of use to students elsewhere.


Vision 2020 - NYC Comprehensive Waterfront Plan
This 192-page NYC government document is a 10-year vision for the future of the city's 520 miles of shoreline.

Waterfront Action Agenda - Transforming NYC's Waterfront
An outline of 130 key projects to be initiated within three years of release in 2011, which will catalyze waterfront investment, improve water quality, and expand public access.