Skip to main content

Architecture: Architecture

Recommended Databases for Architecture

  • Architects


Archigram Archival Project
This amazing site was unveiled in April 2010. It presents the work of the seminal architectural group Archigram free online for public viewing and academic study. The project was run by EXP, an architectural research group at the University of Westminster. It was funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council and made possible by the members of Archigram and their heirs, who retain copyright of all images.

Directory of African American Architects
The Directory of African American Architects is sponsored by the Center for the Study of Practice at the University of Cincinnati as a public service to promote an awareness of who African American architects are and where they are located. The sole qualification for listing is licensure in one of the fifty US jurisdictions and their territories.

Pritzker Architecture Prize Winners
The purpose of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is to honor annually a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. The site has information, images, and videos of the winners.

  • Buildings Codes

New York City Codes.  Including the 2008 NYC Building Code.

The online New York City Zoning Resolution   The Architecture Library offers the latest NYC Zoning Handbook accessible at the Reserve Desk.  Additionally, the City Planning Dept offers an online NYC Zoning Glossary with useful zoning information.

New York State Codes  available online free for 2010.

  • Building Materials
Sweets Catalog Files
Building materials, products, and manufacturers on the McGraw-Hill Construction Sweets Network. CAD details, specs and green product information.
  • Buildings

Architype Review is a specialty publication featuring the most current building types, focusing on the review and study of innovation & advancement in world architecture. An array of projects in a number of building categories. Good graphics.

Building Types Study
This Architectural Record site offers over 800 Building Types Studies that have been written up in past issues starting in 2000. The studies offer analyses of a particular building type, with photos, drawings, specifications, descriptions and design solutions. Additional projects are added monthly. The site also offers project portfolios from 2003 to date that focus on popular projects world wide. The portfolios offer detailed information on the people & trades involved in each project. There are photos but no plans for these portfolio projects. Good place to start for those thinking of thesis projects.

Buildings Technology Center
The BTC at Oak Ridge National Laboratory is the premier U.S. research facility devoted to the development of technologies that improve the energy efficiency and environmental compatibility of residential and commercial buildings. It has fact sheets, publications, and information on working with this center.

Built in America
This site presents images from The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections. " ... includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials."

Center for the Built Environment
CBE provides information on new building technologies. It has links to research and reports.

Emporis Buildings
This site calls itself "the world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data." Good for images and basic information on buildings worldwide (in approximately 10,000 cities); many images. Viewing is free, but usage rights & copies must be purchased.

Great Buildings
This site includes architecture from around the world and across history. It can be searched or browsed by buildings, architects, architectural types, places. (The CCNY Architecture Library has the more complete Great Buildings CD on Reserve in the library.)

High Performance Buildings Magazine
The magazine gives information about the benefits of innovative technologies and energy-efficient design and operation. You'll find case studies of buildings, developed through the support of leading practitioners in the sustainability movement.

McGraw-Hill Dodge Construction
Project news, plans, specifications, and analysis services for construction professionals.

Modern Homes Survey: New Canaan Connecticut
A new (2009) site sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation which the New York Times calls, "one of the most definitive local studies of Modernist houses in the US."

National Association of Home Builders
A portal for a wide range of home and housing construction. It has statistics, reference information, links to industry news services, government data and publications, and commercial products information

National Institute of Building Sciences
NIBS is an interface between government and the private sector. Its mission is to: improve the building regulatory environment; facilitate the introduction of new and existing products and technology into the building process; and disseminate nationally recognized technical and regulatory information. Their web site has numerous resources and links to fulfill these goals.

New Buildings Institute
This institute helps to make buildings better for people and the environment, and promotes energy efficiency in buildings. Their site offers sections on lighting, architecture, and mechanical systems. There are links to applicable codes, guidelines, reports, tools, project information, related events and organizations.

VIVA: Visual Index to the Virtual Archives of The Skyscraper Museum
This database uses a 3-D computer model of Manhattan in the year 2000 as a click-on map. One can view the city, present and past, and access this NYC museum's collections of postcards, urban views and construction photographs through an online, searchable database. MacroMedia's Flash Player is needed to run VIVA. The museum's Web site also offers a "Downtown New York Web Walk" featuring four interactive virtual walking tours through Lower Manhattan and more than a century of high-rise construction. Photos and a building's history are available.

  • Buildings - NYC

100 Years on Hamilton Heights
This online exhibit commemorates the Centennial of the CCNY campus, which was designed by George B. Post, and is considered one of the finest examples of neo-Gothic architecture at any academic institution in the United States.

A Guide to Researching the History of a New York City Building.
This guide by Christopher Gray was adapted from a 1995 NY Times article. It was updated in 2004.

Bronx Architecture
This web site, a project of CUNY's Lehman College Art Gallery, includes images and information on about 75 buildings in the Bronx, as well as profiles of their architects, neighborhood guides, maps, and walking tours. The site went live in October 2009.

Great Buildings: Architecture of NYC
Selected list of buildings in NYC. Images, information and bibliography of writings on the buildings are available.

New York City Buildings: Research Guide
Information from Columbia University's Avery Library Web site. Some suggestions are specific to the Avery Library, but much of the information is applicable to a general search for building information.

New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission
This city agency is responsible for identifying and designating the city's landmarks and the buildings in the city's historic districts. The Commission also regulates changes to designated buildings. This Web site allows one to click on the commission's calendar to see actions on recent applications for landmark status, etc. A number of designation reports are available as PDFs. The Architecture Library has older designations in print. See their FAQ link "A Guide to Research Resources in NYC"  for helpful info on researching city buildings.

Also, see the commmission's "Guidelines for Archaeological Work in NYC."

New York Landmarks Conservancy
The New York Landmarks Conservancy is dedicated to preserving, enhancing, revitalizing, and reusing architecturally significant buildings in New York City and State.

New York Skyscrapers: One Hundred Years of High-Rises
The history of New York City's skyscrapers from the late 19th century to the present day. In addition to individual building entries and background info, it links to other resources, NYC Webcams, clickable maps of locations of NYC skyscrapers, and a forum for NYC skyscraper- related discussions.

The Skyscraper Museum
Located in Manhattan, this museum offers a web site with good information on the topic of skyscrapers worldwide. As the site notes, "the Museum explores tall buildings as objects of design, products of technology, sites of construction, investments in real estate, and places of work and residence.

Steel Institute of New York

A list of innovative projects erected by the Institute's contributing contractors in NYC. Includes images and PDFs of related articles in the institute's Metals in Construction publication.

  • Campus Planning & Design

AASHE- Climate Planning for Campuses
The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education. This particular AASHE resource provides information on Climate Planning for Campuses.

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy. The City, Land and the University.
This site examines the relationships of urban Universities and the communities in which they reside.

Society for College and University Planning (SCUP)
Information Help Funding Source Full Text Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access
Established in 1965, SCUP is a collegial community dedicated to sharing, learning, and teaching best practices in integrated planning for colleges and universities.

  • Career Information
American Institute of Architects (AIA) Career Center

The American Institute of Architects' Web site. Check out their career resources including online resumes and job openings. This site is updated daily. There are many categories of jobs posted including that of intern aimed at unlicensed architecture school graduates having less than three-years experience. One can post a resume as well as look at jobs postings.

architect jobs online
Bills itself as the career site for the architecture industry.

A construction industry site for architects and the architectural profession. The opening screen shows the latest job postings and points you to more.

Job Hunting in Planning, Architecture, & Landscape Architecture
Job-seeking hints from UC Berkley's Environmental Design Library.

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Architects
Published by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. General Information from the most recent handbook. This is good basic information as to the state of the field today. The site includes estimates of job growth in architecture and related fields such as urban design, construction management, and landscape architecture. Descriptions and information on those fields are accessible from this site.

  • Community Districts

Community District Profiles (for NYC's Five Boroughs)
Each of the 59 district profiles contains summary data on population size; birth, death and infant mortality rates; land area and land uses; and levels of income support. Land uses and census tract boundaries are shown on maps and a variety of population characteristics from the 2000 Census are presented for the district as a whole and for each tract within the district. Each district profile also contains lists of Selected Facilities and Program Sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities.

Furman Institute. State of New York City's Housing and Neighborhoods.
State of New York City?s Housing and Neighborhoods. Every year the Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy (NYU) compiles statistics on housing, demographics and quality of life in the City, its five boroughs and 59 community districts. The reports are available annually from 2001 to the present.

  • Demographics

(See also: Community District Profiles above)

Infoshare is a compilation of population-related statistical information, including demographic data, socio-economic data, and health statistics. Currently, the most complete data are available for New York City and State, but information about other regions in the US is also available, and more is being added on a regular basis. Content is based on data obtained from local, state, and federal government agencies. This database is appropriate for students and researchers at all levels.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. The database contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. From Queens College.

  • Dictionaries

Visual Dictionary of Architectural Terms

This dictionary, put together by Ann Whitehead, a Utah Heritage Foundation docent, offers a selective list of architectural definitions with illustrations.


Web of Online Dictionaries
An extensive listing of dictionaries, with links to thesauri and grammars.

  • Film and Movies

Original films and videos including several architectural productions on Architect Shigeru Ban, Parking Structures, and Greg Lynn's Virtual City. Films run three to six minutes.

  • Infrastructure

The Center for Neighborhood Technology
The CNT is an organization that's been a leader in promoting urban sustainability. Among it's many publications is "The Value of Green Infrastructure: A Guide to Recognizing Its Economic, Environmental and Social Benefits" released in 2011. You'll find this 80-page PDF at this site.

Urban Infrastructure finance and land use strategies in metro regions
This is a direct link to the urban infrastructure blog written by members of a large global law firm. Good information and links to what's going on in this area worldwide. New York City is included.

  • Integrated Design & Building Information Modeling (BIM)

Integrated Design Lab/Seattle
The Integrated Design Lab (IDL) is an extension of the University of Washington?s College of Built Environments, Department of Architecture. Its site states that its mission is to provide regional design teams access to the best building-performance knowledge available, project-by-project support, and education & training on how to design, construct and operate the healthiest, most productive and energy efficient buildings in North America.

Whole Building Design Guide
A gateway for up-to-date information on integrated "Whole Building" design techniques and technologies. The site offers a PDF of the just published U.S. National Building Information Modeling Standard.

  • MAPS

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Collection was started nearly 20 years ago, and focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.

Early Real Estate Atlases of New York
Part of the New York Public Library's online Digital Gallery, this particular site offers Manhattan and Brooklyn "fire insurance maps" from the 1850s to 1860. Good historical value.

Google Earth
Google calls this site, "A 3D interface to the planet." Google says that "Google Earth puts a planet's worth of imagery and other geographic information right on your desktop. View exotic locales like Maui and Paris as well as points of interest such as local restaurants, hospitals, schools, and more." Note: To use this site you need a computer that has at least the minimum, but preferably the recommended, configuration listed on the site. A 3D graphics viewer is also required.

Google Maps
Users can type in the name of a region or neighborhood and see any part of it as easily as with a regular street map. One can also swith to "aerial map" view. Coverage of the US is not yet complete, but it's a user-friendly, highly useful site for architecture students. Google Earth may be overtaking it in usefulness.

Historic Map Page
Duke University's Cartography librarian's page of world-wide sites of historical cartography.

New York Public Library Fire Insurance, Topographic, Zoning and Propery Maps of New York City                    A selected group of digital maps of New York City's five boroughs ranging from the mid-1800s through the 1920s.  Good for historical NYC research. Most of the maps are fire insurance maps (Sanborn maps).

OASIS - New York City maps
The NYC Open Accessible Space Information System Cooperative (OASIS) is an organization of cooperative government agencies that offers interactive mapping and data analysis online. At the site, click on the "Go to the OASIS map" link & then select your map features e.g. aerial maps. Community information is available.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
This online database is drawn from a general collection of more than 250,000 world-wide maps held in the University of Texas/Austin Library. Many of the maps are included in the university's library catalog. More than 11,000 maps are available online in this database, most in the public domain.

Professional Organizations

American Institute of Architects (AIA)
Maintained by the national office of the AIA, this site offers up-to-date job opportunities in the field, from intern to senior architect positions. One can also post a looking-for-work resume on the site. News headlines, job board forums, and federal job opportunities are specific features.. E-architect as it's called boasts that it attracts two million page requests and 65,000 users every month .

American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
ASLLA is the national professional association representing landscape architects. Its site offers information on student chapters, competitions, accredited landscape architecture programs, etc. Under "Career Resources," one will find information on jobs, licensing requirements by state, and continuing education programs. "Landscape Architecture in the News" and "Land Online" are regular features to keep one updated on professional news.

Architectural Associations, Organizations, & Research Institutes
Find links to architecture-related organizations from A to Z, primarily in the US, but also in Great Britain. The site is maintained by the Un. of Nevada/Las Vegas architecture librarian, Jeanne Brown.

The Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture

Click HERE to access the School's Web site. Then click on Programs to read about the undergraduate and graduate architecture programs.