Skip to main content

Government Documents: FDLP & Depository Libraries

This guide to Government Documents at the City College of New York is intended to provide you with information about accessing government documents and to help you find governmental resources useful to your scholarship.

Searching for U.S. Publications

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Federal Digital System (FDsys)

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

Depository Libraries

Depository Libraries make up the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) which is part of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). Under the FDLP participaring libraries receive free federal materials. Depository Libraries accept responsibility for providing these materials to the public at no charge.

Currently there are two types of Depository Libraries: selective (partial collections) and regional (receive all titles offered). There are 49 regional libraries and 1175 selectives. Both types provide free public access to a wide varitey of federal government information in both print and electronic formats. All Depository Libraries are indicated by this symbol

Any library displaying the above symbol must allow all patrons use of its depository collection

Federal Depository Library Program Basic Collection

Publications included in the Basic Collection are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government. The list of titles constituting the Basic Collection was first developed in 1977 to identify the most basic Federal publications for inclusion in all depository collections. This list has been periodically updated since then.

Every depository library is required to have the titles in the Basic Collection accessible for immediate use by your users. How this is accomplished at the City College of New York is that in addition to linking to the Federal Digital System & the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications we also provide access to titles in the Basic Collection in the CUNY+ catalog.

TitleSuDocs #

Formats*

American FactFinder C 3.300: Electronic
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids GP 3.39 Electronic
Budget of the United States Government PREX 2.8: Paper
PREX 2.8/1: Electronic
PREX 2.8/1: CD
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance PREX 2.20: Paper
PREX 2.20: Electronic
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications GP 3.8/8-9 Electronic
Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-3) C 3.223/5: Paper
C 3.223/5: Electronic
Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-1) C 3.223/18: Paper
C 3.223/18: Electronic
Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social, Economic, & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-2) C 3.223/23: Paper
C 3.223/23: Electronic
Census of Population and Housing: Social, Economic, & Housing Characteristics (Island Areas) (Series PHC-4) C 3.223/23-2: Paper
C 3.223/23-2: Electronic
Code of Federal Regulations AE 2.106/3: Paper
AE 2.106/3: Electronic
AE 2.106/3: Microfiche
Compilation of Presidential Documents AE 2.109: Electronic
Congressional Directory Y 4.P 93/1:1 Paper
Y 4.P 93/1:1 Electronic
Congressional Record (daily) X 1.1/A: Paper
X 1.1/A: Electronic
X 1.1/A: Microfiche
X 1.1/A: Electronic
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation Y 1.1/3: Paper
Y 1.1/3: Electronic
County and City Data Book C 3.134/2: Paper
C 3.134/2: Electronic
C 3.134/2-1: CD
Economic Indicators Y 4.EC 7:EC 7 Paper
Y 4.EC 7:EC 7 Electronic
Economic Report of the President PR 43.9: Paper
PR 43.9: Electronic
PR 44.9: Paper
PR 44.9: Electronic
Federal Digital System GP 3.43: Electronic
AE 2.106: Paper
Federal Register (daily) AE 2.106: Electronic
AE 2.106: Microfiche
Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970* - Part 1 and Part 2 C 3.134/2:H 62/970 Electronic
Occupational Outlook Handbook L 2.3/4: Paper
L 2.3/4: Electronic
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States AE 2.114: Paper
AE 2.114: Electronic
Social Security Handbook SSA 1.8/3: Electronic
Statistical Abstract of the United States** C 3.134: Paper
C 3.134: Electronic
C 3.134/7: CD
United States Statutes at Large AE 2.111: Paper
AE 2.111: Electronic
United States Code Y 1.2/5: Paper
Y 1.2/5: Electronic
Y 1.2/5-2: CD
United States Government Manual AE 2.108/2: Paper
AE 2.108/2: Electronic
United States Reports JU 6.8: Paper
JU 6.8: Electronic
USA Counties C 3.134/6: Electronic

*City College does not necessarily have all format types - please refer to the CUNY+ catalog.

Subject Guide

Tynan Hoffman's picture
Tynan Hoffman
Contact:
Cohen Library Reference Division

Email: thoffman@ccny.cuny.edu

Phone: (212) 650-5750

Make an appointment

Thanks

Special thanks to Mark Scott of the University of Pittsburgh for permitting the use of his guide Government Information as a template for this guide.