Skip to main content


Answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs), policies and services at the CCNY libraries.

Access to CCNY Libraries

Access to CCNY Libraries      

Current Hours

         CCNY Students, Faculty and Staff community

·         CUNY Libraries

Students, Faculty and Staff have access to all CUNY libraries. You must bring your valid CCNY ID card. To validate your library account, you must contact the Circulation department in person.

·         New York Public Library

NYPL libraries consist of 4 major research libraries which are similar to university libraries and several community libraries throughout the five boroughs.

·         Other New York Metropolitan Area Libraries

Research Institutions/Groups

   If you are part of a research institution or group that currently has library privileges, or would like to start receiving services and have access questions, please contact the library administration office and speak with the Dean of the Library. (212) 650-7271.


CCNY Alumni must become members of the CCNY Alumni Association in order to have access to and borrow materials at CCNY libraries.

Alumni Association Home Page

Visiting Scholars

         Faculty Retirees


  • The City College Library is a federal depository library which members of the public may access. Visitors may access government documents during regular library hours.
  • All Library exhibits, events and program are open to the public. Visitors who ask to see a current exhibit or attend a program must present a Photo ID and mention the name of the exhibit or program.

              Friends of the City College Library

                    The introductory level of membership is $100/calendar year for library access privileges. For more information click here.


Alerting Services

Research Alerts

RSS Feeds and Email and Table of Content Alerts are services that can help you keep up with articles in your area of interest. Check out the database or journal of your subject area to see what is available. Make sure you go through the CCNY Library’s link to databases and journals so that you don’t have to pay for access.

Campus Alerts

Campus alerts can keep you up to date on the latest news relating to services, emergencies, closures, etc. 


CCNY IT Alerts


Members of the Alumni Association may use the library on campus and have borrowing privileges.  To activate these privileges and for all subsequent borrowing transactions, the alumnus must present to the Circulation Desk a currently valid Alumni Association membership card and a photo ID.

Appropriate Conduct in the Library

Architecture Library

Architecture Visual Resources Library

Archives & Special Collections

Art Collection

The City College art collection encompasses contemporary works acquired through Percent for Art projects, historic portraits and commissioned works, ancient artifacts and early casts, and the gifts of generous alumni, faculty and friends of the College.

See the images available on our Flickr Account

Art & Architecture Image Collection

Art Visual Resources Library


What is Ask-a-Librarian?

It is a way for members of the CCNY community to consult a librarian and get help using library resources, finding research materials and more. We accept questions in person and via email.


Visit the main Reference desk during open hours to get help from specialists in all disciplines.

Email us

An initial response to questions received during reference hours is usually provided within 24 hours.

Call Us: 212-650-7612

Make an Appointment with a librarian in your subject area

 More Information about the Ask-a-Librarian Service:

Who answers my questions?

Questions are answered by CCNY librarians. CCNY Librarians are faculty with advanced degrees across the spectrum of subjects, with in-depth knowledge of the contents and functionality of the range of print and electronic resources available at CCNY Libraries. Librarians can facilitate use of databases and the libraries' catalog, CUNY+; help you find and evaluate information on your topics; help you plan your research strategy; work with you to locate facts and statistical data; and instruct you in best practices in information seeking.

When is the service available?

The service is generally available during reference desk hours. For our current detailed hours check here.

How fast will I receive an answer?

We make every effort to answer questions as quickly as possible, within the confines of the particulars of the technologies in question. Email questions are generally answered within 24 hours, depending upon the time of day they are sent. Weekends requests may take an additional 24-48 hours.

Who will receive my question?

A team of expert librarians answers all the questions via any of the asking methods above.

What types of questions may I ask?

     You may ask questions about getting help with your research, using library resources, and more.    

Will a record of my question be kept?

CCNY Libraries are committed to protecting the privacy of our users. Information collected through our virtual reference services will not be shared with any third parties.

Who can use Ask a Librarian Reference?

We can reply to questions from outside CCNY only if the question pertains to CCNY itself, or to a resource unique to CCNY. Otherwise, you may wish to try the Internet Public Library or New York Public Library's Ask Librarians Online (you will need a valid NYPL card).

Is Ask-a-Librarian free?

The Ask-a-Librarian service is free.

Make a request online

Assistive Technologies for People with Disabilities

The following assistive technologies are available in Cohen Library:

  • Computers equipped with scanners
  • JAWS and Vocal-Eyes computer screen reading software
  • Kurzweil 1000 printed material reading software
  • Zoom Text screen magnification software
  • Dragon Naturally Speaking speech recognition software
  • Duxbury Braille translation program to convert standard text on the computer to standard Braille
  • Porta-Thiel a Braille embosser for use with a computer or a Braille note taker, such as the Braille 'n Speak
  • Perkins Braille writer, a manual machine for writing Braille on paper
  • A reading lamp with magnifier

Eligible users may request the workstation password at the Reference Desk. Please report any problems with the equipment or software to the Reference Desk. Additional library services are also available.

 For more services, contact the Campus AccessAbility Center:

           Student Disability Services

  North Academic Center, Rm.1/218

           160 Convent Avenue

           New York, NY 10031

Ydania Santos • Disability Accommodation Specialist

            P | 212-650-5913 TTY\TTD: 212-650-6910

            F | 212-650-5772

  E |