Skip to main content

FAQs: C

Answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs), policies and services at the CCNY libraries.

Cell Phones

CCNY Libraries are committed to maintaining an environment conducive to intellectual pursuit. Cell phones must be set to silent/vibrate or turned off. Please lower your voice if you must answer or make a phone call. You may be asked to step outside the library if you disturb other users. Library users who refuse to comply with our cell phone policy will be considered in violation of the library policy on appropriate conduct.

Charges/Fines/Fees

Fines

  • Fines are charged for each calendar day materials remain overdue.
  • Fines for General Circulation Books are $0.25 per day for each day overdue.
  • Fines for Videos are $1.00 per day for each day overdue.
  • Fines for 2-hour In-Library Reserve Materials are $.10 per minute overdue up to $50.00 (maximum fine).
  • Fines for 3-day Reserve are $25.00 per day and 7-day Reserve Materials are $5.00 per day for each day overdue.
  • Fines for ILL books are $1.00 per day for each day overdue.

     Lost Materials Fee

         All of the following apply:

  • Retail cost of the item
  • $25 processing fee
  • Overdue fines up to the time that the book is reported as lost.

Library users who have lost materials on their Library record will have a BLOCK placed on their College and Library record. Until cleared, the block will prevent registration, graduation, requests for transcripts and borrowing from any CUNY Library.

Damaged Material Fee

Books must be returned to the library in the same condition in which they were borrowed. Charges will be assessed for books returned damaged. Books that are damaged beyond repair will result in replacement costs and processing charges being assessed.

Please avoid the following conditions and common sources of damage to library books:

  • Writing in books (this includes ink, pencil, and highlighters)
  • Moisture (including rain and spilled beverages)
  • Using inappropriate materials as bookmarks, for example:
  • Post-it notes; the adhesive substance used on post-it notes is acidic, can rip pages, and can lift text
  • Paperclips; leave impressions and can rip pages
  • Pencils (or anything thicker than a piece of paper); wedged between pages causes damage to the spine
  • Rubber bands; leave damaging residue on pages and should not be used to hold pages back
  • Folding the corners of pages (dog-earing)
  • Animals
  • Stuffing books into an overfull book drop (if they don't go into the chute easily, return them at the Circulation desk)

Charges may be assessed at the discretion of the Library if any of the above conditions occur, even if accidental or inadvertent.

 

Please do not ever write in library books, even in pencil. Writing in books will result in charges being assessed.

If you come upon any library materials you believe need repairing, please hand them to a Circulation Department staff member. Everyone's cooperation is required in order to keep the collection in the best condition possible.

           

Paying Fines and Fees

Fines must be paid at the library to which they are owed. Fines owed to CCNY Libraries may be paid at the Circulation desk. Please note that any blocks on your record due to fines (as explained above) are based on the total fine on your record. This means that you might have to make payments at more than one library in order to return your account to good standing. You may pay with cash, check or 'flex dollars' on your CityONECard.

  • Make the check payable to the City College of New York, not to the Library.
  • On the Memo line of the check write the barcode from your ID card. If you wish to mail your payment, include a brief cover letter identifying yourself and explaining that you are paying a fine.
  • Make cash payments in person at the Circulation desk. Do not send cash payments by mail.

Circulation/Borrowing

Circumspice (Library Newsletter)

CircumSpice is the official newsletter of the CCNY Libraries. Archives of current and past editions are available online.

Citation Management Software

RefWorks

Refworks is licensed to the CCNY community through the Library. To access Refworks, go to the Library’s Databases A to Z list and create your Refworks account.

Classes & Workshops

Library faculty provide information literacy instruction at numerous skill levels, beginning with all FIQWS sections. Instruction for classes may be scheduled by clicking on Request a class.

Classrooms

The Libraries mainly use classrooms STC-2 and STC-3 in Tech Center located on the first floor of Cohen Library, along with the Architecture Library classroom (Spitzer 101). They are designed to support the library's hands on information literacy sessions.

Color Photocopiers/Printing

Color photocopying is available in the Architecture Library.

Color photocopying costs:

$1/page (8 ½ x 11)
$2/page (11 x 17)

You can pay for photocopying with a print/copy card available for purchase in the Cohen Library. The print/copy card cost $.30.

 

Color printing

Color printing is available in Cohen Library and the Architecture Library.

Color printing costs:

$1/page (8 ½ x 11)

You can pay for photocopying with a print/copy card available for purchase in the Cohen Library. The print/copy card cost $.30.

Computers

Computers at CCNY Libraries

  • Computers for research and studying are located on the 2nd floor of Cohen Library, and on the main floors of all other libraries. Computers have Microsoft Office software loaded on them. You must save your work to a USB drive.
  • Use of computers is on a first-come, first-served basis. You do not need to sign up to use a computer.
  • Printing is available only on computers with a hardwired connection. Hardwired computers will have a “P” in the bottom right hand corner of the screen.
  • Wireless computers require a valid CCNY email account to use. Guest users should use hardwired computers as they do not require a CCNY email account to use.
  • Catalog Only computers are restricted to viewing only the Library Catalog.

Confidentiality

Confidentiality of Library Records

CCNY Libraries Faculty and Staff members, and student staff hold in confidence all information about individual library users and their choices of research or study material, to the extent allowable by law.

The CCNY Libraries support and comply with New York State Law (New York State Civil Practice Law & Rules 4509, Chapter 112, Laws of 1988) with respect to the confidentiality of library records, including, but not limited to the circulation of materials, database searches, interlibrary loan transactions, reference queries, course reserve requests, and the use of audiovisual materials, films, and sound recordings.

All library records relating to an individual patron's use of the library and its resources are confidential. These records may be consulted and used by library staff in the course of carrying out library operations, but will not be disclosed to others except upon the request or consent of the library user, or pursuant to subpoena, court order, or otherwise required by law. Law prohibits the Library staff from giving out any information regarding a patron's library account to any other person regardless of their status or identity. To better protect the privacy of Library patrons, the CCNY Libraries have procedures in place that minimize the retention of library patron records.

Contact Us

Mailing Address/Telephone

            City College Libraries

            160 Convent Avenue

            New York, NY 10031

 

            212-650-7155 (Circulation/Borrowing Division)

            212-650-7612 (Reference Desk)

Other CCNY Libraries

Library Faculty

 

Library Staff

Ask a Librarian

Report a Broken Link

Contact the web administrator to report any broken links or problems with this site

email: library.webmaster@ccny.cuny.edu

Report a Problem with the Library's Facilities (graffiti, bathrooms, etc.)

email: epdeleon@ccny.cuny.edu

phone: 212-650-7271

Report a problem with library computers

Contact the nearest Library Staff Member

email: librarytech@ccny.cuny.edu

Report a problem with photocopiers

Contact the Circulation Desk

212-650-7155

Contact the office of Library Administration

Phone: 212-650-7271

Location:  NAC/Library Room 5/333

Email: epdeleon@ccny.cuny.edu

Comments/Suggestions

Your suggestions and comments help make a better library for CCNY!

Email: reference@ccny.cuny.edu

 

Suggest an addition to the Library's collection

Information About Borrowing, Renewing, Holding, or Recalling a Book

      Circulation/Borrowing 

Renew Books online through My Library Account

Request a book from another CUNY campus (CLICS)

If you have additional questions, contact the Circulation Desk at 212-650-7155. You can also connect directly to your patron information from the My Library Account link above.

Copy Cards

Print/copy cards are necessary for printing in the libraries and are optional on the photocopy machines. Print/Copy cards can be purchased for $.30 in Cohen Library.

Copyright

The CUNY Office of Library Services has created (C)opyright @ CUNY a website to assist members of the CCNY community in complying with U.S. Copyright Law.

Course Reserves

Course Reserves

For Faculty:

Not all departments automatically put materials on reserve for faculty. To help students find your materials, please submit a reserve request in your name. Reserves expire and must be updated each semester. If the book must be purchased before it can be placed on reserve, there may be a delay between when you submit a request and when it becomes available in the online catalog.

If you are a professor and would like to place books on reserve, please choose the appropriate option below:

For other types of reserve readings, link to full-text articles and documents using the Blackboard course page for your class.

For copyright and fair use information relating to reserve materials, visit the CUNY Office of Library Services page on copyright and fair use.

If you have additional questions about putting materials on reserve, please contact the Circulation Division at 212-650-7155.

 

For Students:

Course Reserve books can be searched in the CUNY+ online catalog. Write down the call number and take it to the appropriate Circulation Desk where the staff will find and check out the item to you. Most reserve materials can be checked out for 2 hours at a time.

Not all professors put their materials on reserve and sometimes there is a delay in the system between when a professor puts an item on reserve and when it shows up in the online catalog.

If the book/video is not listed in the online catalog, check with your professor to find out if/when they put the item on reserve.

For other types of reserve readings, link to full-text articles and documents using the Blackboard course page for your class.

CUNY Libraries Inter-Campus Services (CLICS)

If you find a book in CUNY+ that is not in the City College library but is available at another CUNY library, you can request that it be sent to our Library for you to pick up. You will be notified by email when the book is available.


To use CLICS, your e-mail address must be in your library circulation record. Stop by the Circulation Desk or call 650-7155 to verify that it has been entered. An e-mail notification will be sent to you when the book is available. The book will normally be available to you within 48 hours of your request. If the book is not available, you will receive an e-mail notice.

  • Begin your search by selecting all CUNY Libraries in CUNY+
  • Choose the CUNY Library which owns the book you need. You may request circulating books from any CUNY library for delivery to any CUNY library.
Exception:
You cannot request a City College book to be pulled from our stacks.
  • Click on Request.
  • Enter your 14 digit barcode number that is on the back of your valid I.D. card. Enter your password. If you have not created a password; enter your 14 digit barcode number again.
  • Click on the drop-down arrow to see all the CUNY Libraries. Select the CUNY library where you want to pick up the book. You can have the book(s) delivered to any CUNY library.
  • If you don't need the book after a certain date, enter that date in the Period of Interest field in this format: yyyymmdd. Click on Go.
  • You must be a member of the CCNY faculty, staff or student body.

Eligible Users
CUNY undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and staff with an active, unblocked library account.

Eligible Material
Regular loan books.
*Oversize, closed stacks, music scores, MA thesis, DVDs, videotapes, CD-ROMs can not be shipped to other CUNY libraries but can be borrowed in person (*eligible with above exception)

Non-Eligible Material
Journals, reserve material from any library, reference material, material from archives and special collections.

Fines 
Circulation and overdue fine policies of the lending library apply. Consult http://libraries.cuny.edu/circpage1.htm for current loan and fine policy information.

Renewals
You may renew items in My Account in CUNY+ as long as the item is not already overdue or there is not another patron requesting the book.