Skip to main content

Image Collections for CCNY Users: Museums + Int'l

This guide points to images and image collections, some available to CCNY users only, that may be useful for your research.

Universities

Some universities maintain frequently-updated image site portals (collections of sites).  Although duplication is frequent, these are other sources of information:

Bluffon College - Index to Art-Historical [web] sites - a really great smattering of quality image collections

Boston College - includes "Art on the Web"

Boston University - "Finding Images on the Web"

Sweetbriar College, Virginia - Chris Witcomb's famous "Art Resources on the Web"

University of Michigan

Warburg Institute, London

Museums

Portal

Art Museum Sites - Yahoo's updated site of most popular (most frequently used) websites of art museums

University of Michigan's collection of art museum sites

Selected

Art Institute of Chicago

Brooklyn Museum

Guggenheim

Hermitage

Metropolitan Museum of Art

MoMA - The Museum of Modern Art

National Gallery of Art

Norton Simon

National Sites

United States

Art Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture  Smithsonian American Art Museum, delivers images only for owning entities that have submitted them.

Canada

Artefacts Canada 
Virtual Museum Image Gallery

France

Joconde - French national ministry of Culture's centralized database of art museum images

Germany

Bildarchiv Foto Marburg: Bildarchiv zur Kunst und Architectur in Deutschland Foto Archiv

Hungary

Fine Arts in Hungary

Disparate

Associate Dean & Chief Librarian (Emeritus)

Chip Stewart's picture
Chip Stewart
Contact:
Chip Stewart
Associate Dean & Chief Librarian
City College Libraries/CUNY
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031
212-650-7271

Thanks

Special thanks to Lee Sorensen of Duke University for permitting the use of his Image Collections for Duke Users guide as a template for this guide.