Skip to main content

Education: Music

Website for Music Education

 

 

AdTunes

About advertising jingles.

Africa Focus Project

An image and sound database from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Library. Search by collection, subject or country. Image collections include artisans, buildings and structures, cities and towns, education, landscape, religion and women. Sound collections include greetings, rites and ceremonies, songs and singing and drums.

Africa Guide

Covers travel in 51 African countires. Includes data on climate, currencies, visa requirements, transporation and accommodations, favorite destinations, sports, and national festivals.

African Music Encyclopedia
Information about recordings of African music, indexed by country and artist. Includes glossary and list of sources for purchase.

All About Jazz

Features reviews, artist biographies, columns, guides, and global news.

All Record Labels

Database of over 21,000 record labels/netlabel websites or Wikipedia links indexed by genre, format and location.

American
From the Library of Congress, a multimedia collection of dance instruction manuals, ca. 1490-1920. Other related topics covered by the books (complete page images available): etiquette, dance history, anti-dance treatises, notation. Also 75 video-demos of historic dances.

Americans For The Arts

Americans for the Arts is the nation's leading nonprofit organization dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.

Art of the Negro Spiritual

Site designed by Randye Jones, soprano and researcher.

Arts Journal

Excellent resource of current art news. Click on the Visual Arts. Links to articles in art journals as well as newspapers. International in scope. Includes access to information on dance, media, music, publishing, and theater. There is also an archive that goes back one year.

Association of Performing Arts Presenters

Helps arts organizations diversify and deepen relationships with audiences.

BACH: Bach Bibliography

Contains references to more than 17,500 books, articles, facsimilies, dissertations and papers read at conferences and meetings.

Billboard Online
Billboard Online is like its print version with charts in numerous categories (pop, jazz, rap, country, Latin, etc.). Also has news, features, Tunes on TV (a listing of musicians that are on TV in a given week), a new release roundup and a free search tool for artists' performance itineraries.

Broadway: the American Musical

BROADWAY: THE AMERICAN MUSICAL is a new six-part documentary series that chronicles the Broadway musical throughout the 20th century and explores the evolution of this uniquely American art form. The series, created by filmmaker Michael Kantor, draws on a wealth of archival news footage, lost and found television moments, original cast recordings, still photos, feature films, diaries, journals, intimate first-person accounts, and on-camera interviews with many of the principals involved in creat

Center for Black Music Research (CBMR)
The Center for Black Music Research (CBMR) at Columbia College Chicago documents, collects, preserves, and disseminates information about black music in all parts of the world and promotes understanding of the common roots of the music, musicians, and composers of the global African diaspora.

 

Jazz at Lincoln Center - Jazz for Young People

This site is dedicated to educating the public about the distinctly American art form of jazz. It includes concerts, curriculum, Juilliard Jazz Studies, printed music, performance schedules.

K-12 Resources for Music Educators

K-12 Resources for Music Educators is maintained by the Mankato School District, this site has links for band, orchestra, vocal, and classroom for music teachers in general.

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Section Database
 
Catalog of a portion of the Library of Congress Audio Collection, including a large number of unpublished recordings. Music and spoken-word recordings, including radio broadcasts.

MENC: The National Association for Music Education
"MENC is the world's largest arts education organization and the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. More than 130,000 members represent all levels of teaching from preschool to graduate school. Since 1907, MENC has worked to ensure that every student has access to a well-balanced, comprehensive, and high-quality program of music instruction taught by qualified teachers."

Metropolitan Opera Guild Education Website
Resources for "teaching opera and using opera to teach."

Metropolitan Opera: Met History

A history of what many regard as the foremost opera company in the U.S.A.: a database of performance information that includes last night's performance, synopses of operas performed at the Met in recent years, sound files. Also, links to information about current and upcoming activities at the Met.

Music Education Madness Site

Music Education Madness Site is a gathering place containing information for music educators of all levels and expertise. On this site is the Music Education Resource Directory an ever-growing source of listings of businesses, educational institutions, and merchants that cater to the music educators' needs.

Music Education Resource Links
Music Education Resource Links are organized around the nine content standards presented by the National Standards for Art Education.

Music Index Online

The Music Index covers all aspects of classical and popular music including performance, musicians, composers, the music industry, reviews, etc., indexing more than 725 journals and magazines, as well as relevant newspaper articles and other sources. Material appropriate for students and researchers at all levels is available through this index

National Association of Teachers of Singing

Features include awards, info about student chapters and an "online, searchable database of bibliographical information and brief annotations from articles published between 1944 and 1996" in the Journal of Singing.

National Standards for Music Education
National Association for Music Education is to advance music education by encouraging the study and making of music by all. This site contains standards for music and related links.

NewMusicBox

Web magazine from the American Music Center.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia serves as a guide to the collections and resources at the Library of Congress that pertain to music, theater, and dance. Most of these collections and resources can be found in the Music Division, the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division, and the American Folklife Center, although there are additional resources available in other divisions of the Library such as the Manuscript Division and the Rare Books Division.

Yahooligans!

Yahooligans! is a web guide for kids. The site features fun and educational resources for kids with games, animals, music, jokes, movies, news, astrology, TV.

 

Reference and Education Librarian

Jacqueline Gill's picture
Jacqueline Gill
Contact:
The City College Library

Room NAC 2/204

West 138th Street and Convent Avenue

New York, NY 10031

212-650-6089
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Education