Skip to main content

How do I...?: Find Articles

Tutorials and step-by-step instructions for common questions.

Powerpoint Tutorials

Off-Campus Access

Access to electronic/online materials is available only to CCNY Students, Faculty and Staff through a proxy account. To create your off-campus/proxy account, you must have a library validated barcode which is located on the back of your campus ID card. To find out more information or to create your off-campus account, click here.

Finding Articles

To find articles on a subject you must first select a database from the library's list of databases. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to log-in with your proxy/off-campus account before you can access the databases.

To browse our list of databases, visit our Databases A-Z list.

If you are not sure which database is appropriate for your subject area, visit our Subject Guide page.

How do I get the full-text article?

Not every database will offer the full text of an article, it may only provide the citation and/or abstract. Use the FIND IT button when you're in a database to see if we have the full-text available online through another database or if we have it available full-text in print.

To Request Articles

  1. From any database use FIND IT to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title List or the Catalog for print access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
  2. If a journal is available at City College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
  3. If a journal is unavailable at City College, request article via Interlibrary loan 
  4. If a City College paper journal issue or volume is missing, request it via ILL with note.
  5. Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
  6. Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.