Skip to main content
Banner Image

Biomedical Research Resources: Home

This guide provides a set of biomedical research resources, available trough the CCNY's Library for beginning research for the areas of health and medicine. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.

NEWS

NEW RESOURCE

 BrowZine:  Read CCNY E-journal issues on tablets, phones or on the web

What you can do with BrowZine?

Browse an online reading room of CCNY journals on BrowZine  (2005 to present):

PubMed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Schedule a PubMed Instruction Class: Whether you are a new PubMed user or want to improve your basic skills, this 50-minute session will prepare you for effective searching for peer-reviewed journal articles.  

Schedule a Research Consultation: Research consultations are best for in-depth assistance with complex research assignments.  For brief or basic questions,

 Try the reference desk or e-mail me at:   clascar@ccny.cuny.edu 

Zika Virus Health Information Resources

Zika Virus Health Information Resources

We have all been hearing more about Zika virus disease transmitted by Aedes aegypti mosquitoes. The National Library of Medicine has gathered together these resources to assist public health departments, health care providers, librarians, and others seeking authoritative information on the virus and disease.

Zika virus map available from HealthMap

March 12, 2016NLM Zika Virus Health Information Compendium of Resources. It was released in late January 2016 and is continuously updated.  The resources on this page may help with understanding the health issues related to the outbreak of Zika virus infection and the clusters of neurological disorders.​

Examples of resources provided:

  • Many full-text articles available for free: http://1.usa.gov/1QAPJS1
  • Additional free literature from publishers: https://disasterinfo.nlm.nih.gov/dimrc/zikavirus.html#a5
  • Zika Virus and Zika virus infection added as new Medical Subject Headings: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/jf16/jf16_zika.html
  • Disaster Lit:  http://1.usa.gov/1PwD3z0 Approximately 100 Guidelines; Reports; Training materials; Factsheets; Congressional hearings
  • Web Collecting Initiativehttps://archive-it.org/collections/4887 NLM’s web collection on "Global Health Events” now includes selected content related to the current Zika outbreak and co-occurring neurological disorders from Web sites and social media from Government and non-government organizations, journalists, healthcare workers, and scientists in the United States and around the world. Increasingly, this information is found in a rapidly changing environment where valuable and interesting materials can surface and then quickly disappear.
  • Virus Variation Resource for Zika: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/viruses/variation/Zika/ The NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) created a Zika resource that includes a specialized database and provides users an easy way to search and retrieve protein and nucleotide sequences related to this pathogen.  The resource also aggregates links to Zika data at NLM and important links to other Zika-related resources.

Terminology

NLM terminology teams are working with the CDC on the development of public health terminology standard codes used to capture and exchange data in electronic lab reporting and electronic health records.

March 8, 2016: The World Health Organization has created a Zika app which gathers all of WHO's guidance for agencies and individuals involved in the response to Zika Virus Disease. The English version of the app is now available both in Android and iOS versions. 

 

Subject Guide

Claudia Lascar
Contact:
SCIENCE-ENGINEERING LIBRARY,

MARSHAK BUILDING, ROOM J-29

PHONE: (212) 650-6826

Predatory Publishers