From any database use to
determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or,
if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title
or the Catalog for print
access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume,
and issue you need.
If a journal is
available at City College, do not request article viaInterlibrary
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This resource also includes the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, a growing collection which currently includes 113,000 titles (as of March 2013). This allows students and faculty access to all these e-books, covering a broad range of disciplines.
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
JSTOR is a database providing indexing and full text access for about 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals in 42 disciplines. Coverage is heavily weighted toward social sciences and humanities. The titles covered are almost exclusively oriented toward the scholar (senior or higher academic level), but some articles may be appropriate for use by lower level undergraduates.
Portal website to United Nations statistics --- topics include: Key Global Indicators, Millennium Development Goals Indicators and Gender Statistics, as well as statistics for Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, Human Development, Industry, Information & Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Trade and Tourism
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.
From the Library of Congress the Global Gateway is a unified portal to the Library of Congress's digital international collections and resources. Of particular interest is Portals to the World, selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world arranged by country.
Getting to Databases from Off Campus
When you do your work off campus, the first time you click on any database the screen below will pop up, so stop and put in your barcode!
Complete your registration by submitting this form: