Skip to main content

Political Science: Comparative Politics

Internet: UN Documents Databases

The United Nations is making more and more of it's older publications available online through retrospective conversion.  However, do not assume that what is online is all that exists.  Refer to print indexes for historical UN documents

Free IR Databases and Repositories


  • Non-partisan "think tank" that publishes Foreign Affairs; the site includes vast array of in-house publications (policy briefs, journal articles, etc) as well as external material focusing on international affairs and American  foreign policy.

  • Country Background Notes
    Created by the U.S. Department of State; provides information about a country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
  • Country Rankings Guide
    List of country rankings based on indicators that try to measure different characteristics of countries around the world.

  • Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
    Annual report prepared by the U.S. State Department.

  • Electronic Information System for International Law
    Maintained by the American Society of International Law, includes a mix of primary documents, Web sites, and research guides to aid international law researchers.

  • GlobaLex
    Tool for researching foreign and international law; published by New York University School of Law.

  • World Bank Data Catalog
    A listing of free World Bank data sources, including databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Search results can be exported in different formats, such as Excel. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.

  • World Development Indicators
    Electronic access to more than 865 development indicators with time series for more than 225 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to the present, where data are available. Produced by The World Bank Group.

Open Data

Statistics from United Nations Agencies

The UN Statistics Division oversees UN collection, organization and distribution of statistics and provides links to the UN databases from their web site.  Here are some of the major UN statistical databases.