Skip to main content

Political Science: Databases

J Store (Journal Storage)

JSTOR has created a full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles. As part of JSTOR's agreement with publishers, current issues (usually the last 3 - 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. The A. Frank Smith Library has access to the entire content of JSTOR's archival journal collections.

  • Digital archive of scholarly journals in many different disciplines, including political science (146 titles).
  • Current issues (usually last 3-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and be be available in Academic Search Complete or elsewhere.
  • Index approaches by keyword, author, title, abstract and periodical.
  • JSTOR will allow you to browse for articles in an online table of contents.
  • All peer-reviewed articles.
  • To get started, you can view a tutorial for JSTOR.

Project Muse

Project MUSE is a collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.  Journals can be browsed or searched for articles. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.  For an introduction to Project Muse.


  • Click  here for instructional material for learning about Project MUSE, how to search, how to find journals by discipline, etc.
  • You will be able to retrieve some full-text JSTOR articles when searching in Project Muse.
  • 100% full-text articles from scholarly journals.
  • Advanced search through the pull down menus are: "and" "or" "not" "near" "followed by." The truncation symbol is *.


Columbia International Affairs Online provides access to the literature of theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes the following:

  • Working papers from over 100 institutions.
  • Recent conference proceedings from more than 30 academic and nonprofit research institutes.
  • Texts and references from selected journals in the field of public policy.
  • Summaries and selected full text of selected books published by a number of important organizations in the field of public policy, including U.S. government reports.
  • A selection of full-text policy briefs and economic indicators from major organizations devoted to international affairs, including the Federal government.
  • Case studies, written by leading scholars, examine the effects of important events in history.
  • Course packets and syllabi for introductory and graduate level courses in international affairs.
  • CIAO also includes links to other sources for information on international affairs, a schedule of scholarly events in foreign affairs and security policy, and extensive information on nations and regions of the world, including maps.

Help is available from the lower right of the front page . See also the guided tour.