Skip to main content

Juvenile Literature: Websites

Websites of interest


Association for Library Services to Children - Caldecott Medal

Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) is ALA’s official site for the Caldecott Medal awards.

http://www.ala.org/alsc/

 

Association for Library Services to Children - Newberry Medal

Association for Library Services to Children      is ALA’s official site for the Newberry Medal awards.

http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/newberymedal/newberyhonors/newberymedal

1001 Of the Best Internet Sites for Educators 

1001 Of the Best Internet Sites for Educators is an online book By Mark Treadwell containing 1,000 Internet sites tailored to K-College educators.

http://books.google.com/books?id=_9GXgPRqunoC&dq=Best+Children%27s+Literature+(On+The+Net)+&psp=1

 

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site includes book reviews, classroom ideas, themes, and professional topics.

http://www.carolhurst.com/

 

Children’s Africana Book Awards

Children’s Africana Book Awards The awards focus specifically on books published in the United States about Africa.

http://www.africaaccessreview.org/aar/awards.html

Children’s Book Awards and Other Literary Prizes

Children’s Book Awards and Other Literary Prizes includes major book awards and best books lists in children's literature and young adult literature of interest to librarians and teachers.

http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/awards.htm#B

 

Children’s Book Awards

This site contains the most comprehensive guide to English-language children’s book awards on the internet.

http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/awards.html

 

Children’s Literature Association (ChLA)

Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children. For our members, children’s literature includes books, films, and other media created for, or adopted by, children and young adults around the world, past, present, and future.

http://www.childlitassn.org/index.php?page=homepage

 

International Children's Digital Library

This site allows users to read the full text of over 200 children's books from around the world. It also contains award winners and historical works in a variety of languages. 

http://www.icdlbooks.org/


Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award

Visit this site for information about the Minnesota children's book award, past winners, and a list of the current year's nominations.

http://www.isd77.k12.mn.us/lovelace/lovelace.html

 

American Library Association (ALA) Internet Resources: Children’s Literature

American Library Association (ALA) Internet Resources: Children’s Literature contains useful sites for teachers, librarians, and students.

http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2000/julyaugust3/childrensliterature.htm

 

Interesting Things for ESL Students

Interesting Things for ESL Students is a collection of word games, puzzles, reading and vocabulary for English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as Foreign Language (EFL) students.

http://www.manythings.org/

 

Kids on the Web: Educational Sites

Web Guide includes an education section, with B's top picks in educational sites of children's educational software by parents, teachers, and kids.

http://www.kidsites.com/

 

 

Search Engines for children and education.

This site contains search engines dedicated to resources for children and education.

http://www.nabss.org/irsearch.htm

 

TIME for kids

TIME for kids contains resources and materials for using TIME magazine in the classroom.

http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/class/

 

UpToTen - the fun place to learn on-line

On this site are over 727 games, songs, and activities for preschool and primary school students. Parents will find practical ideas, advice, and forums that will help children with multimedia and the internet. The Up To Ten Toyshop gives listings of safe toy gift ideas.

http://www.uptoten.com/

 

ALAN Online: The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents

Assembly on Literature for Adolescents is an independent assembly of NCTE. ALAN has given the ALAN award to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of adolescent literature. The site contains ALAN awards, Bill’s Best Books, Ted Hipple Awards, grant information.

http://www.alan-ya.org/

 

Children's and Young Adult Literature

This site contains additional links, professional organizations, review/plot summaries/lesson plans, special collection, writers and publishers.

http://library.websteruniv.edu/childlit.html

 

Lesson Plans and Resources for Adolescent and Young Adult Literature

This site contains links to lesson plans and resources for adolescent and young adult (grades 7-12) literature, including short stories, mysteries, and English literature.

http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edadolescentlit.htm

 

Readingchair.com

Readingchair.com (Amazon Books) lists adolescent books in subject order for purchase.

http://www.coolteenbooks.com/

 

Teen Hoopla (ALA)

This web site is a combination of information on Teen Reading and Teen Read Week compiled by the Young Adult Reading Services, American Library Association. On this site are links to data and resources, recommended reading, tips to encourage reading.

http://www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/teenreading/teenreading.htm

 

Blue Web'n 

Blue Web'n is a searchable database of over 1,800 Internet learning sites categorized by subect area, audience, and type of resource.

http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/

 

Chinese ERIC

The Chinese Educational Resources Information Centre Project (Chinese ERIC) - Establishing a free electronic database of educational studies in Chinese communities.

http://www.fed.cuhk.edu.hk/ceric/

 

ED Pubs

Ed Pubs is the on-line ordering system that enables users to order the Department of Education's publications, posters, videos, and other products.

http://www.ed.gov/about/ordering.jsp

 

Education Commission of the States

The Education Issues section provides overviews of, quick facts on, etc. what states are doing in many subject areas such as class size, uniforms and dress codes, and bilingual education. Individual state links provides lists of related government officials and access to state Web sites.

http://www.ecs.org/

 

Educational Resource Organizations Directory (EROD)

Educational Resource Organizations is a database of thousands of organizations providing current, subject-specific resources on education-related topics. Organizations include regional education laboratories, national research centers, professional research organizations, etc., offering assistance and/or information on a state, regional, or national level. It is searchable, and browsable by organization type and by state and territories (uses the map and list icons).

http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/

 

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

"The ERIC database, the world's largest source of education information, contains more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. By searching ERIC's web-based version of the ERIC Database, you can access the ERIC abstracts which are also found in the printed medium, Resources in Education and Current Index to journals in Education. The database is updated monthly, ensuring that the information you receive is timely and accurate."

http://www.eric.ed.gov/ERICWebPortal/search/extended.jsp?_pageLabel=advanced

 

Gateway to Educational Materials

Gateway to Educational Materials allows educators to search for lesson plans and curriculum materials, limiting the search by grade level and other options.

http://www.thegateway.org/

 

Global Curriculum Bank

Global Curriculum Bank for HIV/AIDS Preventive Education - This service focuses on the collection, analysis and dissemination of curricula and related teaching and learning material for HIV/AIDS preventive education at primary and secondary levels worldwide.

http://www.ibe.unesco.org/International/Databanks/dba.htm

 

Global Education Database 

Global Education Database contains mostly statistical data from UNESCO and Demographic and Health Surveys, a USAID program.

http://qesdb.cdie.org/ged/index.html

 

Great Britain - The British Education Index

Great Britain - The British Education Index office in Leeds University Library provides a number of information services relevant to the work of researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the fields of education and training.

http://www.leeds.ac.uk/bei/

 

MeNational Clearinghouse for Educational Facilities

National Clearinghouse for Educational Facilities collects and disseminates information about the design, construction, maintenance, and operation of elementary and secondary school buildings.

http://www.edfacilities.org/

 

 

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition and Language Instruction Educational Programs 

This site collects, analyze, and disseminate information about education for linguistically and culturally diverse learners.  This site has many links including a searchable database of print resources.

http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/

 

National Library of Education

Functions as the U.S. federal government's main resource center for education information through the following programs: The programs and activities in the Department of Education; provides department publications; education materials from other federal agencies; services and resources available through ERIC, the research institutes, and the national education dissemination system; and statistics through the National Center for Education Statistics.

http://www.ed.gov/NLE/

 

New York City (NYC.gov) Education/Research Directory

"NYC.gov Education/Research provides information about educational opportunities within New York City and offers a new and exciting way to conduct research into the history of our City as well as into many related areas."

http://www.ccny.cuny.edu/library/Menu.html

 

 

ReferenceLink

Use ReferenceLink to search magazines, newspapers, news wire services and general reference databases from around the world for full-text articles and indexing on a wide range of topics: business, local and world news, science and technology, medicine, education, patents, and more.

http://www.dialog.com/cgi-bin/gale/referencelink.cgi?Auth=User_ID=Dsunycort_main

 

RelatED

RelatED records good practices in learning to live together. It is primarily concerned with school-based initiatives selected from around the world.

http://www.ibe.unesco.org/International/Databanks/dba.htm

 

School Match

School Match is an educational research, database and auditing firm specializing in rating schools from grades K-12.

It includes databases on each of the public school systems in the U.S. and over 14,000 U.S. accredited private schools.

http://www.schoolmatch.com/

 

U.S. Network for Education Information

U.S. Network for Education Information provides information to Americans and persons abroad about U.S. and foreign education systems.

http://www.ed.gov/NLE/USNEI/

 

Virtual Reference Shel - Library of Congress

http://www.loc.gov/rr/askalib/virtualref.html

 

 

 

Reference and Education Librarian

Jacqueline Gill's picture
Jacqueline Gill
Contact:
The City College Library

Room NAC 2/204

West 138th Street and Convent Avenue

New York, NY 10031

212-650-6089
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Education