Skip to main content

Juvenile Literature: Resources

Resources

ALA American Library Association, Association for Library Service to Children
ALA American Library Association, Association for Library Service to Children is interested in the improvement and extension of library services to children in all types of libraries. It is responsible for the evaluation and selection of book and non-book library materials and for the improvement of techniques of library service to children from preschool through the eighth grade or junior high school age, when such materials and techniques are intended for use in more than one type of library.

Bookhive
Bookhive is a site for children age?s birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books. Parents may find special "parental notes" attached to some reviews that provide additional information about the book. Users can search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and even favorite illustrator.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics

Center for Children's Books Center
The Center for Children's Books Center for Children's Books (CCB) houses a non-circulating collection of more than 14,000 recent and historically significant trade books for youth, birth through high school, plus review copies of nearly all trade books published in the U.S. in the current year. There are over 1,000 professional and reference books on the history and criticism of literature for youth, literature-based library and classroom programming, and storytelling.

Child & Family Web Guide
Child & Family Web Guide Child & Family Web Guide describes trustworthy websites on topics of interest to parents and professionals. Sites listed provide easy access to the best child development information on the Web.

Child Welfare
Materials related to child adoption, foster care, welfare and families, child poverty, child advocacy.

Children's Book Council (CBC) Children's Book Council, Inc.
Children's Book Council (CBC) Children's Book Council, Inc. is the nonprofit trade association of publishers and packagers of trade books and related materials for children and young adults. The site contains information poetry, careers in children?s book publishing, links to authors and illustrators of children?s books, reading lists.

Children's Defense Fund
The Children's Defense Fund?s Leave No Child Behind® mission is to ensure every child a Healthy Start, a Head Start, a Fair Start, a Safe Start, and a Moral Start in life and successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring families and communities.

Children's Literature Web Guide
Children's Literature Web Guide is an internet resource related to books for children and young adults. The site contains information of collection development for children?s literature, storytelling, news, events.

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University (CPBD@MU) is a bibliography for designing literature-based thematic units for all disciplines, including health education. The database contains abstracts of over 5000 picture books for children, preschool to grade 3.

Children's Rights Council
The Children's Rights Council (CRC) is an internationally recognized leader serving divorced, never-married and extended families and at-risk youth for more than 20 years. CRC promotes a society where laws, attitudes and public opinion affirm that 'The Best Parent is Both Parents'®. Organized to serve the public purpose of advocating the healthy development of children, it is the mission of CRC to minimize the emotional, physical and economic abuse, neglect and distress of children and the devel

Cyberchase PBS Kids
Cyberchase is an animated adventure television series and multimedia project for children ages 7-11, about a team of kids on daring missions in Cyberspace.

Database of Award-Winning Children's

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature database site contains a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. DAWCL has over 4,500 records from 57 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).

Early childhood resources on the web
Early childhood resources on the web are a compilation of websites on early childhood education.

KidLit Children's Literature Home
KidLit WebSite, designed for kids (mostly) and for adults interested in quality children's literature. This site offers all kids opportunities to see their works published on the worldwide web.

KidLit Children's Literature Home Page
KidLit WebSite, designed for kids (mostly) and for adults interested in quality children's literature. This site offers all kids opportunities to see their works published on the worldwide web.

NASA Quest
NASA Quest is a resource for educators, kids and space enthusiasts who are interested in meeting and learning about NASA people and the national space program.

National Middle School Association
NMSA is the only national education association dedicated exclusively to the growth of middle level education.

Nineteenth Century American Children and What They Read
"When most people think of nineteenth-century American children's books, they think of works like Louisa May Alcott's Little Women (1868), or Mark Twain's Tom Sawyer (1876). Or maybe they think of Horatio Alger's books, like Ragged Dick (1867). But there were other, earlier books that were equally popular -- so popular that one author was mobbed by excited children when he made a tour in the 1840s." --- site created and maintained by Pat Pflieger

Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus contains full-text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets, an encyclopedia and a dictionary. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

UNICEF
Created in 1946 by the United Nations to address the health care needs of children after World War II, the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) has since expanded its' interests to include education, children's rights, nutrition and the effects of both war and economic conditions on children.

 
Children's Literature Resources

 

 

Association for Library Services to Children is ALA?s official site for the Newberry Medal awards.

 

 

Beyond Nancy Drew
A bibliography of girls' literature in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics

Children's Literature and Language Arts Resources
Focus on children's literature in education; also offers associated language arts resources.

Children's Literature WebGuide
Rich resource for teachers from Library of Teaching Resources at University of Calgary.

Children?s Africana Book Awards
Children?s Africana Book Awards The awards focus specifically on books published in the United States about Africa.

Children?s Book Awards
This site contains the most comprehensive guide to English-language children?s book awards on the internet.

Children?s Book Awards and Other Literary Prizes
Children?s Book Awards and Other Literary Prizes includes major book awards and best books lists in children's literature and young adult literature of interest to librarians and teachers.

Database of Award-Winning Children's
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature database site contains a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. DAWCL has over 4,500 records from 57 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).

de Grummond Collection
Repository and research center for study of children's literature.

International Children's Digital Library
One of the best free book sites for children from 3 - 13, this collection offers some 500 contemporary and out of print books and picture books in full text and in the original language of publication. Current research and design methods presented as well as interactive demos.

KidLit Children's Literature Home
KidLit WebSite, designed for kids (mostly) and for adults interested in quality children's literature. This site offers all kids opportunities to see their works published on the worldwide web.

KidLit Children's Literature Home Page
KidLit WebSite, designed for kids (mostly) and for adults interested in quality children's literature. This site offers all kids opportunities to see their works published on the worldwide web.

Kids on the Web: Educational Sites
Web Guide includes an education section, with B's top picks in educational sites of children's educational software by parents, teachers, and kids.

Kids Search [Grades K-5]
Kids Search contains full text for over 50 popular, elementary school magazines, over 100 student pamphlets, an encyclopedia and a dictionary.

Lesson Plans and Resources for Adolescent and Young Adult Literature
This site contains links to lesson plans and resources for adolescent and young adult (grades 7-12) literature, including short stories, mysteries, and English literature.

Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award
Visit this site for information about the Minnesota children's book award, past winners, and a list of the current year's nominations.

Nineteenth Century American Children and What They Read
"When most people think of nineteenth-century American children's books, they think of works like Louisa May Alcott's Little Women (1868), or Mark Twain's Tom Sawyer (1876). Or maybe they think of Horatio Alger's books, like Ragged Dick (1867). But there were other, earlier books that were equally popular -- so popular that one author was mobbed by excited children when he made a tour in the 1840s." --- site created and maintained by Pat Pflieger

Primary Search [Grades K-5]
Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Searchasaurus [Grades 1-3]
Searchasaurus contains full-text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets, an encyclopedia and a dictionary. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

TOPICsearch [Grades 5-12]
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today?s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 92,700 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.

Yiddish and Hebrew Children's Books
Part of the Center for Jewish History's Digital Collections, these 40+ richly illustrated titles from the collections of The YIVO Institute for Jewish Research and the Yeshiva University Museum are freely accessible online.

Reference and Education Librarian

Jacqueline Gill's picture
Jacqueline Gill
Contact:
The City College Library

Room NAC 2/204

West 138th Street and Convent Avenue

New York, NY 10031

212-650-6089
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Education