Skip to main content

HeinOnline: Home

Information relating to the Legal Studies's database HeinOnline.


HeinOnline is an online product subscription provided to OCU students and Law Library patrons. HeinOnline has over 70 million pages of legal history available online.  The fully-searchable database provides image-based formats (in PDF Form) just as the images appeared in their original print. HeinOnline can offer rich historical value by offering the availability of titles dating back to their inception. HeinOnline is currently the world's largest image-based legal research collection with over 9 centuries of legal history. HeinOnline is a product of William S. Hein & Co., Inc.

Training & Support

Find training and support for HeinOnline using the HeinOnline Help & Support Page. The Help & Support Page includes many helpful resources such as frequently asked questions, training guides, instructions, tutorials, webinars, and an abundance of other information to help with your research.

Purpose of LibGuide

The purpose of this LibGuide is to provide a knowledge base for the usage of HeinOnline.  After viewing this LibGuide users should have a working knowledge on the use and the research value of HeinOnline.  Included in this LibGuide is a basic overview, a how-to on searching, information on accessing HeinOnline via the Library's web-page and much more.

HeinOnline Libraries

  • Law Journal Library

    • American Bar Association Journals

    • Core U.S. Journals

    • Criminal Justice Journals

    • International & Non-U.S. Law Journals

    • Most-Cited Law Journals

  • American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)

  • Association of American Law Schools (AALS)

  • Canada Supreme Court Reports

  • Code of Federal Regulations

  • Early American Case Law

  • English Reports

  • European Centre for Minority Issues

  • Federal Register Library

  • Legal Classics

  • Manual of Patent Examining Procedure

  • Pentagon Papers

  • Revised Statutes of Canada

  • Statutes of the Realm

  • Treaties and Agreements Library

  • Trends in Law Library Management and Technology

  • United States Code

  • U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection

  • U.S. Federal Legislative History Library

  • U.S. Presidential Library

  • U.S. Statutes at Large

  • U.S. Supreme Court Library

  • World Constitutions Illustrate

Content of LibGuide

This LibGuide contains many useful resources to guide you in researching on HeinOnline.  Some of the content includes:how to gain access to Hein, a general overview of the databases and libraries on Hein, some quick tips for useing Hein, how to search on Hein, tips on researching legislative, Indian, and International laws, an overview of the Law Journals Library, as well as an overview of Hein's uniqe features, Scholarcheck and MyHein.

Thank you to Oklahoma City University School of Law Library and to Amanda Burdick-Brown for permitting the use of their guide, HeinOnline, as a template.

Points to Remember

Although HeinOnline is often thought of for historical legal research, it is also useful in many other areas.  Many of the searchable libraries in the database are current and updated regularly.  HeinOnline is also a wonderful tool for international legal research and legislative research.  

HeinOnline- There is an App for that!

You can now access the world's largest image-based legal research database on the go with the new HeinOnline App available in the Itunes store.  All that is required is a HeinOnline account authentication and an Ipod or an Ipad.  You can find it in the itunes store

Features include: viewing HeinOnline's Image-based PDF's, use of the Citation Navigator, browse by Volume, view the E-Table of Contents, and search using Advanced Searching Techniques.