Skip to main content

HeinOnline: Overview

Information relating to the Legal Studies's database HeinOnline.

US Presidential Library

This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.

US Supreme Court Library

Library includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this library.

World Constitutions Illustrated

This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.

Searchable PDF's

Where can I find a description of each library?

Hein has an updated list of all the libraries contained in their database. Not only is there a great, indivisual description of each library, the List of Libraries page also specifies for each library the amount of titles, volumes and pages located within each library. After linking to the page, simply click on the library that you are interested in.

Law Journal Library

Library contains more than 1,530 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States. The CFR is published by the Office of the Federal Register, an agency of the National Archives and Records Administration. The CFR is a multi-volume set divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. While new regulations are continually becoming effective, the physical printing of the CFR is updated once every calendar year and is scheduled on a quarterly basis. The coverage offered in HeinOnline begins from the CFR's inception in 1938 and continues through 1984. Additional years will be released in the future.

English Reports

The English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) online edition delivers exact page-images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases.

Federal Register Library

The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. It's coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).

US Statutes at Large

Library includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.

Legal Classics

Library includes nearly 2,000 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many "classics" this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.

United States Code (USC)

This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.

US Federal Legislative History Library

In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history.

Treaties & Agreements Library

This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.


Library descriptions obtained from: