Skip to main content

Digital Scholarship: Multimedia Databases

The City College Libraries used JSTOR Forum to build the following multi-media databases.  JSTOR Forum is a web-based platform for managing and publishing digital assets including documents, images, audios, and videos.  JSTOR Forum provides a completely customizable work environment with built-in metadata standards.  Collections in JSTOR Forum can be kept private, available within the City College or CUNY, or published to the open web through Artstor and the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).

Student Works

Faculty Research

Archives & Special Collections

CCNY Art Collection

The CCNY Art Collection collection consists of approximately 1,800 works acquired by the College from its founding in 1847 to the present day, whether by purchase, commission, or gifts from alumni, faculty, and friends of the college. These include ancient artifacts, plaster casts, and murals, as well as prints, drawings, and paintings from the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection also encompasses contemporary holdings, such as the David and Lenore Levy Collection of Contemporary Photography, which includes photographs by Manuel Alvarez Bravo, Marilyn Bridges, Lucien Clergue, Elliott Erwitt, Andreas Feininger, Larry Fink, Sally Gall, Ralph Gibson, Mary Ellen Mark, Joel Meyerowitz, Dorothy Norman, and Gilles Peress, among others. Also represented are works acquired through Percent for Art, a program of The City of New York Department of Cultural Affairs, which aims to bring public art to New York City’s civic architecture and public spaces. Percent for Art projects at The City College include works by contemporary artists such as Romare Bearden, Yeou Jui Cho, Lisa Dinhofer, April Gornik, Keith Haring, Susan Kaprov, Mary Ann Unger, and Kay Walkingstick. 

This project is in process.

Administrative Office

The office of communications and marketing uses JSTOR Forum to manage event photographs and videos.  This collection is not open to the public.

Digital Scholarship Librarian

Ching-Jung Chen's picture
Ching-Jung Chen
Contact:
212-650-5369

cchen@ccny.cuny.edu

The Digital Scholarship Services in the Cohen Library work with faculty and staff to manage and publish digital assets for preservation, access, and dissemination.  Please contact Prof. Ching-Jung Chen, Digital Scholarship Librarian, to build new projects or to learn more about the services that we provide.