Ebola is not a respiratory disease, it is not spread through the airborne route (Infographic)
Is it Flu or Ebola? (Infographic) West Africa Outbreak (Infographic)
May 9, 2015: Today, WHO declares Liberia free of Ebola virus transmission.
April 22, 2015. Ebola Treatment Shows Promise in Monkey Study
April 14, 2015. Ebola Vaccine Trial Begins in Sierra Leone
April 14, 2015. Ebola Virus Evolving, but Isn't Getting Deadlier
April 8, 2015. Researchers Create One-Dose Ebola Vaccine
March 31, 2015. HHS contracts BioCryst Pharmaceuticals of Durham, North Carolina, to develop new Ebola drug, including preparing for large-scale manufacturing of the drug and conducting related studies.
Mar. 26, 2015. Two experimental Ebola Test Vaccines, cAd3-EBOZ and VSV-ZEBOV appear to be safe based on evaluation in more than 600 people in Liberia who participated in the first stage of the Partnership for Research on Ebola Vaccines in Liberia (PREVAIL) Phase 2/3 clinical trial according to interim findings from an independent Data and Safety Monitoring Board review. Based on these findings, the study, which is sponsored by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), part of the National Institutes of Health, may now advance to Phase 3 testing.
Ebola vaccines, therapies, and diagnostics. This document from WHO provides answers to questions about clinical trials and evaluations of potential vaccines, therapies, and diagnostics for Ebola virus disease.
January 20, 2015: Recommendations about International Travel for Education Purposes and the Ebola Outbreak in West Africa
January 15, 2015: Recommendations for Managing and Preventing Cases of Malaria in Areas with Ebola
There are 35 hospitals with Ebola treatment centers in the United States as of 12/2/2014. In New York the following hospitals are now equipped to treat patients with Ebola: North Shore System LIJ/Glen Cove Hospital, Montefiore Health System, New York-Presbyterian/Allen Hospital, NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation/HHC Bellevue Hospital Center, and The Mount Sinai Hospital.
Interim Guidance for U.S. Hospital Preparedness for Patients with Possible or Confirmed Ebola Virus Disease: A Framework for a Tiered Approach This CDC guidance document released on December 2, 2014 serves as an overarching framework for three other specific CDC guidance documents: Interim Guidance for Preparing Frontline Healthcare Facilities for Patients with Possible Ebola Virus Disease; Interim Guidance for Preparing Ebola Assessment Hospitals; and Interim Guidance for Preparing Ebola Treatment Centers.
Emotional Distress and Concerns About Ebola: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) provides access to the Disaster Distress Website and the Disaster Distress Hotline 24/7 year round for crisis counseling and support. If you are feeling overwhelmed due to this outbreak, call 1-800-985-5990 for assistance, which is available to anyone affected by the outbreak, including health workers and other responders. SAMHSA launched Ebola new resources to support individuals, communities, and responders in dealing with the Ebola outbreak. These resources include new Tip Sheets on coping with stress and talking to children about the Ebola epidemic, a letter from SAMHSA Administrator, Pam Hyde, and a new Ebola-focused Disaster Behavioral Health information Series collection.
- Articles in PubMed
- ASPR Ebola Webpage
The resources provided by the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) website are intended to help healthcare professionals better detect a patient that may be infected with Ebola. These resources include clinical definitions, practical checklists, Ebola preparedness considerations for Outpatient/Ambulatory Care Settings, Ebola screening criteria for Outpatient/Ambulatory Care Settings, and many more.
- CDC Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease)
Ebola Outbreak in West Africa, Signs and Symptoms, Transmission, Risk of Exposure, Prevention, Diagnosis, Treatment, Healthcare Workers, and many more.
- CDC Newsroom Archives--Ebola Outbreak 2014
Includes all of the materials released to the press related to the Ebola outbreak.
- CDC’s Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) Ebola information
CDC’s Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) provides timely and credible information for the effective and responsible translation of genome-based discoveries into public health & health care.
- Checklist for Healthcare Coalitions for Ebola Preparedness
Developed by ASPR and CDC to highlight activities that all healthcare coalitions can take to prepare for the possibility of a patient exposed to Ebola arriving for medical care.
- DMPHP Special Edition on Ebola
The Disaster Medicine and Public Health (DMPHP) Special Edition on Ebola from the Society for Disaster Medicine and Public Health will continue to provide free access to all published contributions on this subject. The Society for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is committed to examine the details of individual disasters and public health crises.
- Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease)
The disease is caused by five species of Ebolavirus
- Ebola (for the general public from Medlineplus)
- Ebola (para el público en general en español)
- Ebola epidemic
A collection of research and news articles on the Ebola virus made freely available by Science and Science Translational Medicine
- Ebola Outbreak 2014 - 2015: Information Resources
MOST COMPLETE RESOURCE*******This resource comes from the Disaster Medicine and Research Center, includes Organizations, Free Resources from Publishers for Medical Responders, Biomedical Journal Literature and Reports, Ebolavirus Information Sources, Situation Reports, Maps, Health Resources for the Public, and Multi-Language Resources
- Ebola Videos in American Sign Language
- FDA Ebola Virus Emergency Use Authorizations (EUAs)
Includes 2014 FDA letters of authorization for the emergency use of in vitro diagnostics for the detection of Ebola virus, fact sheets for healthcare providers and patients, and labeling document for each EUA. This website is updated as additional EUA’s are released.
- National Technical Reports Newsletter, November 2004: Ebola Virus
This issue features a sampling of new and historic information available from NTIS via the NTRL website related to the topic of Ebola Virus.
- PLOS Resources on Ebola
- Selected Ebola-Related Content
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) has launched a Web collecting initiative to capture and preserve selected born-digital content documenting the 2014 Ebola outbreak. Initiated on October 1, 2014, selected content related to the current Ebola outbreak includes Web sites and social media from Government and non-government organizations, journalists, healthcare workers, and scientists in the United States and around the world, with an aim to collect and preserve a diversity of perspectives on this unfolding health crisis.
- Spotlight on Ebola with articles from BioMedCentral & Springer
All BioMed Central articles are published open access, and all Springer articles are NO LONGER FREELY ACCESSIBLE AFTER MARCH 1, 2015. Check the CCNY CUNY+ catalog
or/and the Electronic Journal List A to Z to find out if a particular title is made available to you.
- Transporting Ebola Contaminated Items, a Category A Infectious Substance
Department of Transportation (DOT) Guidance
- World Health Organization Ebola virus disease
- World Health Organization Information resources on Ebola virus disease
- World Health Organization: Ebola at One Year
WHO has a series of 14 papers based on the past year of the Ebola epidemic.