Skip to main content

Dissertations: PhD Deposit

Publish Your Dissertation

Are you working toward submission of your dissertation? Use UMI ETD Administrator to submit your dissertation for publishing & archiving. Click on "Publish the Dissertation" to get started.

Digital License Agreement for Dissertations

Publish the Dissertation

Suggested Reading

Deposit Your PhD Dissertation

Go to UMI ETD Administrator to submit your dissertation and supplementary files. Multiple file formats can be submitted. Also find instructions, tips for converting a work to PDF, and additional information about these and other topics. Create an account to deposit, monitor, and revise your submission if there are errors. See Format for Deposit guidelines for specifications about electronic depositing in any file format, adding supplementary files, and pagination, paper stock, signatures required. Questions about the deposit process may be sent to: deposit@ccny.cuny.edu

Complete the Grove School Exit Survey.

Complete the Survey of Earned Doctorates. Be sure to keep your certificate of completion.

Copyright

Unlike most other traditional academic publishers, ProQuest does not demand copyright in exchange for publication or deposit of your dissertation. You retain sole ownership of and copyright to all deposited work. ProQuest is licensed to distribute your work as you specify (see below). Copyright protection is secured upon deposit, or online appearance, of your dissertation. For an additional optional $55 fee to ProQuest, authors may hire ProQuest to file a copy in the US Library of Congress. This gesture may make it easier for authors to claim violation of their own work and to obtain compensation in the unlikely event of copyright infringement. Authors may also file works in the US Library of Congress for $35 without ProQuest assistance.

Select publishing options

Traditional publishing authorizes ProQuest to post a work in its Digital Dissertations subscription database and sell the work in electronic, print, and microformats, for which the author receives a 10% net revenue royalty for no more than 25 years, payable once a $25 threshold is reached. ProQuest's Open Access publishing option offers digital distribution of a work free to any online reader from the ProQuest database, supported by a one-time $95 fee by the author at the time of deposit. See also ProQuest's Open Access Compared to Traditional Publishing. The CCNY electronic thesis and dissertation (ETD) repository publishes Open Access online for dissertations published without embargo in ProQuest/UMI, rendering the $95 Open Access ProQuest fee unnecessary. 

Search engines crawl the database and with author's permission allow citations and abstracts for works deposited 2007 and after to be discovered by Google, Google Scholar, Google Books, Yahoo, and other engines. Citations and abstracts for works distributed by traditional publishing may be discovered by search engines, but free full-text is available to online searchers through these engines only if an author selects Open Access publishing. See also ProQuest's Third Party Discovery and Access statement.

Embargo or delay release blocks your work from ProQuest full-text distribution in any format. Authors may opt for a 6-month, 1-year, or 2-year embargo at the point of deposit. See also ProQuest's Embargoes & Restrictions. At any point after you have submitted the work to ProQuest, authors may alter, extend, or retract an embargo by contacting ProQuest/UMI. Alternately email disspub@proquest.com, or from North America call 800.521.0600 ext. 77020. Include your ISBN number; available only to dissertation authors, not their representatives. Delayed release allows authors extra time to obtain copyright permission, see ProQuest/UMI's Sample Permission Letter and instructions, or to negotiate with publishers objecting to a work's prior release. If an embargoed work is requested, neither ProQuest/UMI nor the library may contact the author due to ProQuest/UMI's privacy policy. The CCNY Library copies (in print, microfilm, and digital formats) are not subject to author embargo. These university copies of record may be displayed in the library and CUNY IP-space, copied by users in that space, and loaned by the CCNY Libraries via Interlibrary Loan.

  • Upload a copy of the dissertation file (s), often in PDF format. For paper and PDF format guidelines, see the CCNY Libraries' Format Guidelines and the ProQuest/UMI PDF FAQ for instruction.
  • ProQuest/UMI will, for an optional $55 fee, register a dissertation with the U.S. Copyright Office and send a copy to the Library of Congress. See UMI/ProQuest's Why Copyright about the benefits of this optional service. Authors retain copyright for all works deposited in the ProQuest repository.

The final PhD dissertation deposit meeting requires:

  • Signed Digital Thesis Licence Agreement
  • Your approval page with two required signatures, those of the Chair of the Examining Committee and of the program's Executive Officer, plus typed names of faculty members who supervised the writing (see sample)
During the final deposit meeting, your bill for the  deposit will be assessed. After the meeting, take the bill to the Bursar in the Wille Administration Building to make payment (by cash or check only - no credit cards accepted at the window) and receive a receipt. The Registrar supplies an Application for Degree form with your full name (as it will appear on the Diploma), address, and signature. The Registrar issues a letter with the university seal certifying your deposit and the date of award, which is the date of deposit. The Registrar also issues instructions for commencement ceremony attendance. For graduates depositing while out-of-town, the Registrar will mail the certifying letter. Diplomas are available from the Registrar after commencement.

Authors are responsible for the accuracy of deposited dissertations, theses, and capstone projects. Final copies must be free of typographical error and correct in every detail of style and format. If typos or formatting errors are present in the deposit PDF, re-submission of a corrected file is possible in consultation with the Dissertation Assistant. Print copies must be unbound, unmarked, and free of hole-punches and correcting fluid. Please submit print copies in paper boxes or in envelopes.

Recipients of Perkins or Federal Direct Student Loan must arrange for an exit interview with the Office of Financial Aid. Make an appointment with the Office of Financial Aid (212-650-6656 or financialaid@ccny.cuny.edu) at least five business days before deposit.

Personal bound copies of non-embargoed deposited works may be ordered online from ProQuest/UMI

Recipients of certain public and private awards in support of doctoral degrees may be required to deposit selecting Open Access Publishing, or provide a print copy of a completed work. Consult the SHERPA-JULIET Directory for funder policies; verify with any sponsoring organization prior to deposit.

rev 27 May 14

Schedule & Fees

Schedule your defense at least five (5) business days prior to your deposit date to allow time for corrections and account clearances.

While the dissertation may be deposited at any time during the year, please review the chart below for deposit deadlines: 

For Degree Enrollment Required   Deposit Required By
January/February Preceding Fall term January 5
May/June Commencement Spring term May 25
September 1 Preceding Spring term August 25

 

Fees are based on formats required and services selected. Depositors take the assessed bill to the Bursar's window to pay fees by check or cash. 

Fees   Amount You Pay
PQ Copyright (optional) $55.00
PQ Open Access (optional) $95.00


 

CUNY IRB & Human Subjects Clearance

When you reach Level 3, submit to the Research Compliance Administrator (Shepard 108B) a copy of the signed Dissertation Proposal Clearance: Human Participants form. All deposits require this clearance.

Any questions should be directed to Tricia Mayhew-Noel, Research Compliance Administrator, (212) 650-7902, irb@ccny.cuny.edu.

Thanks

Special thanks to Polly Thistlethwaite of the CUNY Graduate Center for permitting the use of her Dissertations & Theses guide as a template for this guide.