This guide provides a set of resources, available through the CCNY's Library for beginning research in electrical engineering. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.
Last Updated: May 20, 2015
What Is Electrical Engineering?
Electrical engineers design, develop, and test electrical equipment. The broad field of electrical engineering involves working with all manners of electronic devices, from pocket calculators to supercomputers. Often overlapping with computer engineering, a college degree in electrical engineering can open up the door to a technical career in almost any industry. Since technology is always changing and expanding, the need for electrical engineers is always growing.
In August 2014, the Department of Energy (DOE) launched the DOE Public Access Gateway for Energy and ScienceBeta (DOE PAGESBeta), a web-based portal designed to provide free public access to peer-reviewed accepted manuscripts or published scientific journal articles resulting from DOE-funded research within 12 months of publication. DOE PAGESBeta represents DOE’s response to a February 2013 White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) memorandum calling on federal agencies to develop and implement plans to provide public access to the results of research they fund, and it leverages DOE’s long-established infrastructure and systems for managing scientific and technical information (STI).
- DOE PAGESBeta
Search for journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding.
- DOE Data Explorer (DDE)
Search tool that helps users explore DOE data by identifying publicly available collections or sources of DOE-sponsored scientific research data and allowing users to retrieve individual datasets within some of those collections. All of the collections and individual datasets result from R&D funded in whole or in part by DOE; many of the collections reflect DOE funding combined with that from other agencies or the private sector. All the collections included in DOE Data Explorer can be accessed without charge, although some require password registration.
- SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
ScienceCinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
From the 1940’s to today… A central collection of US Department of Energy patent information.
- DOE R&D accomplishments
This site is comprised of the R&D Accomplishments Database, Featured Scientists/Topics pages, Nobel Laureates, Interesting Insights, and Snapshots.
Software is one of several forms of scientific and technical information (STI) resulting from DOE-funded R&D.
- NLE (National Library of Energy)
Science resources and other information from across the
- E-Prints Network
E-prints in basic and applied sciences.