Skip to main content

Historian's Craft: Home

This LibGuide supports Prof. Anne Kornhauser's course Historian's Craft, which is designed to help orient students to the study and practice of history. Students will create a research paper proposal, tentative argument, and bibliography.

Historian's Craft LibGuide

Welcome to the Historian's Craft LibGuide, designed to:

  • help you to formulate searches on catalogs and databases
  • suggest catalogs and databases
  • show you how to access databases from off-campus

Course Readings

For writing-related readings, please see the Writing Help tab.

How to Use This Guide

Step 1 Getting Started tab: Start here if you aren't sure what your topic is. This section will ask you some basic questions to get you to brainstorm what you want to write about. It will also guide you to some of the best databases for background readings. These are readings that may not make it to your bibliography, but will help you select something specific to argue.

Step 2 Start Searching Tab: Start here if you already have a specific topic in mind but need guidance in terms of how to search the catalogs and databases.

Find Books tab: Start here if you are looking for secondary source books for your topic either in CUNY or outside CUNY. You'll learn how to use CLICS and InterLibrary Loan (ILL),  services that will deliver books from other CUNY libaries or non-CUNY libraries to City College Libraries.

Find Articles tab: Start here if you don't know what databases to search to find secondary articles. You may also find some primary material, but these databases are mostly for finding peer reviewed (and other) articles.

Find Primary Sources tab: Start here if you don't know where to start finding primary sources. This section includes sample searches and a few sample books to get you started.

Writing Help tab: This section includes suggestions for books and centers that will help you in your writing.

Feedback tab: Please let me know if I can improve this LibGuide (anonymously).