Other Health Databases
This is the "Home" page of the "Biomedical Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biomedical Research Resources   Tags: health, medical school student, medicine, physician assistant student  

This guide provides a set of biomedical research resources, available trough the CCNY's Library for beginning research for the areas of health and medicine. This list is not exhaustive or comprehensive. Visit our home page for additional resources.
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/medicine Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

PubMed

New AIDSinfo Drug App Released

AIDSinfo is pleased to announce the release of the AIDSinfo Drug App.Using data from the AIDSinfo Drug Database, the drug app provides information on more than 100 HIV-related approved and investigational drugs. The information, offered in English and Spanish, is tailored to meet the needs of both health care providers and consumers. The app is designed to automatically refresh when the user is connected to a wireless or cellular data network.

The FDA drug labels pulled from DailyMed are integrated into the app in an easy-to-navigate format. This feature, coupled with the auto update feature, makes it easy for health care providers to quickly find the latest drug information when seeing patients. In addition, information from the FDA labels is condensed in easy-to-understand summaries in English and Spanish for consumers. The app also includes information on HIV-related investigational drugs for both health care providers and consumers. It is available for both iOS and Android devices.

      

    Information resources on Ebola virus disease

    Ebola is not a respiratory disease, it is not spread through the airborne route  (Infographic)

    Is it Flu or Ebola? (Infographic)    West Africa Outbreak  (Infographic)

    January 20, 2015Recommendations about International Travel for Education Purposes and the Ebola Outbreak in West Africa

    January 15, 2015: Recommendations for Managing and Preventing Cases of Malaria in Areas with Ebola 

    There are 35 hospitals with Ebola treatment centers in the United States as of 12/2/2014.     In New York the following hospitals are now equipped to treat patients with Ebola:  North Shore System LIJ/Glen Cove Hospital, Montefiore Health System, New York-Presbyterian/Allen Hospital, NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation/HHC Bellevue Hospital Center, and The Mount Sinai Hospital. 

    December 9, 2014. Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell announced a declaration under the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness (PREP) Act to facilitate the development and availability of experimental Ebola vaccines.This declaration is intended to assist in the global community’s effort to help combat the current epidemic in West Africa and help prevent future outbreaks there. The PREP Act declaration provides legal protection under U.S. law for three vaccine candidates:

    • the GlaxoSmithKline’s Recombinant Replication Deficient Chimpanzee Adenovirus Type 3-Vectored Ebola Zaire Vaccine known as ChAd3-EBO-Z;
    • the BPSC1001 vaccine, known as rVSV-ZEBOV-GP, made by BioProtection Services Corporation, a subsidiary of Newlink Genetics; and
    • the Ad26.ZEBOV/MVA-BN-Filo vaccine manufactured by Janssen Corporation, subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson/Bavarian Nordic.

     Interim Guidance for U.S. Hospital Preparedness for Patients with Possible or Confirmed Ebola Virus Disease: A Framework for a Tiered Approach  This CDC guidance document released on December 2, 2014 serves as an overarching framework for three other specific CDC guidance documents: Interim Guidance for Preparing Frontline Healthcare Facilities for Patients with Possible Ebola Virus DiseaseInterim Guidance for Preparing Ebola Assessment Hospitals; and Interim Guidance for Preparing Ebola Treatment Centers.

    Emotional Distress and Concerns About Ebola:   The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration  (SAMHSA) provides access to the Disaster Distress Website and the Disaster Distress Hotline 24/7  year round for crisis counseling and support. If you are feeling overwhelmed due to this outbreak, call 1-800-985-5990 for assistance, which is available to anyone affected by the outbreak, including health workers and other responders. SAMHSA launched Ebola  new resources to support individuals, communities, and responders in dealing with the Ebola outbreak. These resources include new Tip Sheets on coping with stress and talking to children about the Ebola epidemic, a letter from SAMHSA Administrator, Pam Hyde, and a new Ebola-focused Disaster Behavioral Health information Series collection.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Claudia Lascar
    Contact Info
    SCIENCE-ENGINEERING LIBRARY,
    MARSHAK BUILDING, ROOM J-29
    PHONE: (212) 650-6826
    Send Email

    RESEARCH HELP

    Schedule a PubMed Instruction Class: Whether you are a new PubMed user or want to improve your basic skills, this 50-minute session will prepare you for effective searching for peer-reviewed journal articles.

     

    Schedule a Research Consultation: Research consultations are best for in-depth assistance with complex research assignments.

     For brief or basic questions, try the reference desk or e-mail me at: clascar@ccny.cuny.edu

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip