Musical TheaterWriting About MusicMusic EducationJewish MusicOperaChoirsScores OnlineServices and PoliciesCopyrightFair UseCopyright FAQAmerican Musical Theater (Robb)American Musical Theater (Krasner)Contemporary Popular Music (Piza)
This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use this guide to explore Music Resources available at CCNY.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ravi Shankar teaching at CCNY in 1967

Photo Courtesy of Alumnus Magazine, CCNY Archives and Special Collections

 

The City College Music Library

The Music Library contains more than 15,000 sound recordings, 17,000 music scores, 12,000 books about music, and 2,000 bound periodicals as well as access to our online Music Resources Database. It provides playback facilities for the collections CDs, LPs, cassettes, videos, CD-ROMs, and has public Internet workstations and a photocopy machine. Books and scores are shelved in open stacks in the Harold Newman Reading Room on the lower level. Scores are classed by the Columbia-Vassar adaptation of the G.S. Dickinson classification for music. Bound periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title.

The Music Library is open to anyone with a validated ID from any of the colleges of CUNY. Books may be returned to any CUNY library; scores must be returned directly to the Music Library. Sound recordings circulate only to City College Music Department faculty for classroom preparation. Please consult a member of the Music Library staff for further information.

The Music Library, created in 1948, was installed in its fifth campus home in 1993 when it moved to a newly-renovated bi-level space under the apse of the Great Hall in Shepard Hall. The Music Department is located nearby in the same building. Most of the furniture and shelving were designed by the William A. Hall Partnership, architects for the project. A mural by William Clarke Rice, featuring the college’s first building on Twenty-third Street, is mounted over the entrance

 

Thanks Professor Koblick!

A special thanks to former CCNY Music Librarian Rebecca Koblick for her contributions to this libguide. Her bibliographies on Musical Theater, Writing About Music, Jewish Music, Music Education, Opera and Choirs can be found under Specialized Topics. Thanks Professor!

 

Music Library

City College Music Library

Monday:          10 am - 7 pm
Tuesday:         10 am - 7 pm
Wednesday:    10 am - 7 pm
Thursday:        10 am - 7 pm
Friday:             10 am - 5 pm
Saturday:            CLOSED
Sunday:              CLOSED

Music Department Website
Music Courses this semester
Online Catalog
Databases A to Z

Contact CCNY Music Librarian:


Mr. Michael Crowley
ccnymuslib@gmail.com

 

New Books!

Cover Art
Norton Anthology of Western Music 7e V 2 - J. Peter Burkholder; Donald J. Grout; Claude V. Palisca
Call Number: MT91 .N67 2014
ISBN: 039392162X
Publication Date: 2014-04-28

Cover Art
Writing about Music - Richard Wingell
Call Number: Music Reserve
ISBN: 0136157785
Publication Date: 2007-12-29

Cover Art
Concise History of Western Music - Barbara Russano Hanning
Call Number: ML160 .H2827 2014
ISBN: 9780393920666

Cover Art
Thelonious Monk - Robin D. G. Kelley
Call Number: ML417 .M846 K46 2009
ISBN: 1439190461
Publication Date: 2010-11-02

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip