Skip to main content

FIQWS: Self and Other in Literature: LibGuide

This research guide is intended to help you design effective research strategies and locate print and electronic resources for your research paper. Resources introduced here are accessible in the CCNY libraries, as well as from off-campus.

Welcome to FIQWS: Self & Other in Literature LibGuide!

   Mr Pipo me myself I and etc (Wikimedia 2011)

Welcome to the FIQWS: Self & Other in Literature LibGuide!

This research guide is intended to help you design effective research strategies and locate print and electronic resources for your research paper. Resources introduced here are accessible in the CCNY libraries, as well as from off-campus.


   

Research Tips:

1. Define your research topic 

What are you interested in? What do you want to find out? What do you intend to demonstrate/argue/prove in your paper?

2. Get overview & identify key terms

Get an overview and background information of the topic. Use print & online subject specific encyclopedias, and be familiar with your topic and keywords to use. Refine and narrow down your topic.                                                                                                                                             

                     ...etc. 

Search more titles in the Library Catalog.

3. Outline your paper & identify resources you need

What is your thesis? What information do you need to support your argument? Are you focusing on ethical/economical/psychological/religious/historical aspects of the subject?

Identify the types of resources you need (books? journal/magazine/newspaper articles? still images? moving images? statistics? interviews? sound clips?)

 

4. Search for information

Search for information in online catalogs and databases. 

*Books & eBooks --- Library Catalog, OneSearch, WorldCat (Interlibrary Loan)

  •  Identity in narrative : a study of immigrant discourse / by Anna De Fina (eBook)

*Journal articles --- Online databases

                      ... etc.

*Magazine articles --- Online databases

                                                      ... etc.

*Court cases and Newspaper articles --- Online databases

                                                                ... etc.

A complete list of databases is available under Databases A to Z.

For subject guides in specific areas of study, see the complete list here.

 

5. Evaluate information & Sources

Is the information accurate? Are the sources appropriate for academic research paper?

 

6. Apply information & Cite sources

Cite your sources accordingly (MLA, APA, Chicago style, etc.). 

Utilize "Cite" functions available in online databases, or refer to online or print citation guides.

 

*Books (Print)

Last name, First name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication year. Print.

Obama, Barack. The Audacity of Hope : Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream. New York: Crown Publishers, 2006. Print.

 

*eJournal articles

Last name, First name. “Article Title.” Publication Title: Issue# (publication year): page#. Name of database. Web. Date accessed. 

Dansieh, Solomon Ali. "SMS Texting And Its Potential Impacts On Students' Written Communication Skills." International Journal Of English Linguistics 1.2 (2011): 222-229. Communication & Mass Media Complete. Web. 28 Sept. 2013.

 

*Books (Print)

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Obama, B. (2006). The Audacity of Hope : Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream. New York: Crown Publishers.

 

*eJournal articles

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page rangeRetrieved from
http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Dansieh, S.A. (2011). SMS Texting And Its Potential Impacts On Students' Written Communication Skills. International Journal Of English Linguistics1.2, 222-229. Retrieved from http://www.ccsenet.org/journal/index.php/ijel/article/view/10050

***********************************************************************************

Prefer using a chart? 

See Research steps for your paper

 

***********************************************************************************

Need research assistance?

         ...Ask a librarian!

Email me! <yinagi@ccny.cuny.edu> Or, come find me/us at the reference desk in the Cohen Library.

 

        Need writing assistance?

        ...Visit the Writing Center!

They offer one-on-one tutoring services.

 

Image: "Mr. Pipo me myself I and etc." Wikimedia Commons (2011).

 

Librarian/Chief of Cataloging & MPC Division

Yoko Inagi Ferguson's picture
Yoko Inagi Ferguson
Contact:
yinagi@ccny.cuny.edu

Cohen Library
NAC#2/305
The City College of New York
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031
212.650.7623

Need help?

E-Z Proxy Access
For all resources from off-campus click database name and follow instructions.  See instructions

Can't find the fulltext article?

To Request Articles

  1. From any database use FIND IT to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search for online access in the Journal Title List or the Catalog for print access to determine whether City College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
  2. If a journal is available at City College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
  3. If a journal is unavailable at City College, request article via Interlibrary loan 
  4. If a City College paper journal issue or volume is missing, request it via ILL with note.
  5. Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
  6. Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.